Tournament tips :)

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by gingerphil79, Jul 25, 2011.

1. gingerphil79

gingerphil79 Regular Member

Sports massage therapist
    Now Im no expert, am a decent players who played a lot of tournaments local and not so local lol but nothing professional. Club standard. I thought id share a few of my experiences with people to help them with their own competitions.

Prep:

NO exercise or badminton the day before the event!!!!!!!!: - Ul jus tire yourself out and to be honest if you need to practice the nit before a comp, ur telling urself, im not ready because 1 more nit of practice will not improve ur game. Take it easy so your body is is fully fresh for the comp.

Light gentle exercise 2 days before the event: - For me I find a nice gentle 20 min jog at a pace in which I can sing to my hearts content is good. For me I feel its keep the body going so u arent resting too much but more importantly, i feel it helps get me loose. If you are training hard, a gentle day is what the body needs to heal faster than a complete rest so try it and c. I find it works for me.

Carb build: - I find eating a lot of food the night before a tourny is good. Some tournaments can last hours and u need the energy to keep going. U dont want to eat to much on the day due to playing and nerves etc but having lot of food the night before or day before will help make sure ur stores are full ready for the comp.

The actual competition:

This is where things are more complicated as it depends on the player. What kind of a player are you? Do you play better in practice or when ur under the pressure? If your the 1st (better in practice), then try and relax yourself. Listen to calming music, take few slow deep breathes. Even leading up to the competition - visualise playing calm in the competition playing your best. Everything going in etc.

If your the latter - well you shouldnt ave to do too much but jus run on aut pilot.