User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 17 of 18

Thread: quick question

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    scotland
    Posts
    8
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default quick question

    hey i was wondering, what happens if the shuttlecock hits one of the stands that hold up the net and lands in, does that count?

  2. #2
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    35,338
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    43 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    yes. it is considered in.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    scotland
    Posts
    8
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    thank i have always wondered x

  4. #4
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    8,603
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    84 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    I can't imagine the scenario the OP posted with the posts specifically dedicated for badminton because such posts do not extend over the net and you need to hit it over the net first before it can be considered in. However, if it's in a school gym with those tall multi purpose posts used for volleyball/badminton etc, then obviously by the time the bird hits those posts, it's already way out of the court. ... So, I have an inkling the OP is referring to the latter case, in which case the answer is no.

  5. #5
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    35,338
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    43 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    that's right. it is considered IN when the pole is in the immediate area of the court, ie within the line boundary which is the case for proper net positioning. if however, the poles are not in the immediate area of the court, then it should be considered out.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    2,875
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    How about if the shuttle flew pass the side of the post and landed in?

  7. #7
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    35,338
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    43 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Yoppy View Post
    How about if the shuttle flew pass the side of the post and landed in?
    this is an interesting one. back when we were discussion this, in this thread:

    http://www.badmintoncentral.com/forums/showthread.php/26879-Badminton-rule-dispute

    the rules says :

    13. FAULTS

    It is a ‘fault’:

    13.2 if in play, the shuttle:

    13.2.3 fails to pass the net;

    but since then, the rule has been changed to say:

    13.3.3 fails to pass over the net;

    so there is an intention to differentiate between passing the net (which means OK to pass on the side) and passing over the net (which mean NOT OK to pass on the side).

    so with the current rule, it is then illegal to pass on the side of the net.




  8. #8
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    8,603
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    84 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    ^^ Interesting, because in tennis I've seen Roger Federer take some amazing forehand shots from waaaaaay outside the court making them pass the side of the post below net level and landing just inside the opponent's left court. Guess we can't do this in badminton:

  9. #9
    Moderator cobalt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arrakis
    Posts
    8,351
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    38 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Yoppy View Post
    How about if the shuttle flew pass the side of the post and landed in?
    In that case, you took the shuttle when it was outside the tramlines! Now, why would a player want to do that?

    OR, you're playing outdoors with a strong wind coming in at right angles to the court; so you intentionally hit a bit out, and let the wind bring it back in...

    OR you have contracted/bribed the indoor crowd on one side to do the Mexican wave (with their flags) on cue...

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    2,875
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I see thanks for the info kwun. I think there is a posibility that when that rule 13.3.3 was created to improve/correct rule 13.2.3 in a sense that the shuttle may pass below or through the net, but BWF may not have considered the posibility that the shuttle can fly around the side of the post.

  11. #11
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    8,603
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    84 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Speaking of flying around the post, wasn't there a video on YouTube showing Peter Rasmussen iirc slicing birds with so much spin that it swerves aroung the side of the posts below net level!

  12. #12
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    35,338
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    43 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by visor View Post
    Speaking of flying around the post, wasn't there a video on YouTube showing Peter Rasmussen iirc slicing birds with so much spin that it swerves aroung the side of the posts below net level!
    actually it was Jonas Rasmussen!

  13. #13
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    8,603
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    84 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kwun View Post
    actually it was Jonas Rasmussen!
    I stand corrected. I did say "iirc".

  14. #14
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    2,875
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cobalt View Post
    In that case, you took the shuttle when it was outside the tramlines! Now, why would a player want to do that?
    No actually shuttle can bend too. The other day I accidently hit a straight backhand push from the mid left side of the court which was going wide and 20cm below the net height to the side of the post, and guess what? It landed in.

    I was playing indoor. It could be some some wind, but even wind it happens.

    Another possibility is that when you are not sure if the shuttle is in or out and then made the shot anyway from what turns out to be out position, which then your shot curve around the post and landed in.
    Last edited by Yoppy; 08-03-2011 at 08:38 PM.

  15. #15
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    35,338
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    43 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by visor View Post
    I stand corrected. I did say "iirc".
    no problem. i just wanted to tell u that iaaudnrc....

  16. #16
    Regular Member chris-ccc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    26,240
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mrs-poochie View Post
    hey i was wondering, what happens if the shuttlecock hits one of the stands that hold up the net and lands in, does that count?
    .
    It is considered as 'In'; because the stand is part of the playing space above the court. But the shuttlecock must travel over the net height, not under.

    However, if the shuttlecock hits the ceiling above and lands in, it's a 'Fault'. I have always wondered why?
    .
    Last edited by chris-ccc; 08-04-2011 at 07:15 AM.

  17. #17
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    8,603
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    84 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    ^^Say you're in a school gym with multi purpose 10 foot tall volleyball posts (using the badminton notch height for the net of course) set into the floor a foot wide of outside court lines on each side. You hit the bird heading towards the post above the net, it's heading out of the court but hits the tall post and falls in. So you consider that "in"? :shakehead:

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Quick Question..
    By Raygun26 in forum Racket Recommendation / Comparison
    Replies: 1
    : 10-08-2009, 11:40 AM
  2. Quick question
    By hellspar3 in forum Badminton String
    Replies: 4
    : 05-29-2007, 12:42 AM
  3. quick question
    By drifterXL in forum Badminton String
    Replies: 3
    : 04-15-2007, 03:04 PM
  4. quick question
    By checkthemc in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 4
    : 07-16-2005, 06:56 AM
  5. Quick question...
    By Matt Ross in forum Badminton Rackets / Equipment
    Replies: 8
    : 08-12-2003, 07:13 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •