Thread: quick question
08-03-2011, 11:50 AM #1
hey i was wondering, what happens if the shuttlecock hits one of the stands that hold up the net and lands in, does that count?
08-03-2011, 12:42 PM #2
yes. it is considered in.
08-03-2011, 12:51 PM #3
thank i have always wondered x
08-03-2011, 12:57 PM #4
I can't imagine the scenario the OP posted with the posts specifically dedicated for badminton because such posts do not extend over the net and you need to hit it over the net first before it can be considered in. However, if it's in a school gym with those tall multi purpose posts used for volleyball/badminton etc, then obviously by the time the bird hits those posts, it's already way out of the court. ... So, I have an inkling the OP is referring to the latter case, in which case the answer is no.
08-03-2011, 01:12 PM #5
that's right. it is considered IN when the pole is in the immediate area of the court, ie within the line boundary which is the case for proper net positioning. if however, the poles are not in the immediate area of the court, then it should be considered out.
08-03-2011, 07:55 PM #6
How about if the shuttle flew pass the side of the post and landed in?
08-03-2011, 08:02 PM #7
the rules says :
It is a ‘fault’:
13.2 if in play, the shuttle:
13.2.3 fails to pass the net;
but since then, the rule has been changed to say:
13.3.3 fails to pass over the net;
so there is an intention to differentiate between passing the net (which means OK to pass on the side) and passing over the net (which mean NOT OK to pass on the side).
so with the current rule, it is then illegal to pass on the side of the net.
08-03-2011, 08:47 PM #8
^^ Interesting, because in tennis I've seen Roger Federer take some amazing forehand shots from waaaaaay outside the court making them pass the side of the post below net level and landing just inside the opponent's left court. Guess we can't do this in badminton:
08-03-2011, 09:19 PM #9
OR, you're playing outdoors with a strong wind coming in at right angles to the court; so you intentionally hit a bit out, and let the wind bring it back in...
OR you have contracted/bribed the indoor crowd on one side to do the Mexican wave (with their flags) on cue...
08-03-2011, 09:22 PM #10
I see thanks for the info kwun. I think there is a posibility that when that rule 13.3.3 was created to improve/correct rule 13.2.3 in a sense that the shuttle may pass below or through the net, but BWF may not have considered the posibility that the shuttle can fly around the side of the post.
08-03-2011, 09:27 PM #11
Speaking of flying around the post, wasn't there a video on YouTube showing Peter Rasmussen iirc slicing birds with so much spin that it swerves aroung the side of the posts below net level!
08-03-2011, 09:28 PM #12
08-03-2011, 09:31 PM #13
08-03-2011, 09:35 PM #14
I was playing indoor. It could be some some wind, but even wind it happens.
Another possibility is that when you are not sure if the shuttle is in or out and then made the shot anyway from what turns out to be out position, which then your shot curve around the post and landed in.
Last edited by Yoppy; 08-03-2011 at 09:38 PM.
08-03-2011, 10:32 PM #15
08-04-2011, 08:07 AM #16
Last edited by chris-ccc; 08-04-2011 at 08:15 AM.
08-04-2011, 10:50 AM #17
^^Say you're in a school gym with multi purpose 10 foot tall volleyball posts (using the badminton notch height for the net of course) set into the floor a foot wide of outside court lines on each side. You hit the bird heading towards the post above the net, it's heading out of the court but hits the tall post and falls in. So you consider that "in"? :shakehead:
By Raygun26 in forum Racket Recommendation / ComparisonReplies: 1: 10-08-2009, 12:40 PM
By hellspar3 in forum Badminton StringReplies: 4: 05-29-2007, 01:42 AM
By drifterXL in forum Badminton StringReplies: 3: 04-15-2007, 04:04 PM
By checkthemc in forum Techniques / TrainingReplies: 4: 07-16-2005, 07:56 AM
By Matt Ross in forum Badminton Rackets / EquipmentReplies: 8: 08-12-2003, 08:13 AM