User Tag List

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Sheffield
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Help regarding the rules

    Two questions need clarifying for me please:
    1. During the service, is it:
    classed as a fault if the shuttle goes out of the boundary lines - as in out of the entire court?

    classed as a fault if the shuttle gets caught in the net on the servers side? (the official rules only mentions it is a fault if the shuttle passes over the net to the 'opponent's side' and gets caught)

    classed as a fault if the server serves the shuttle and it hits the net on their side and falls on their side?

    classed as a fault if the shuttle passes over the net to the opponents side but lands on the floor just in front of the the net? e.g before the short service line

    (Maybe these are implied and I am not 'reading between the lines' as some would say, but surely rules should attempt to allay any queries?)

    2. What is exactly meant by rule 13.3.3 - "It shall be a fault if, in play, the shuttle fails to pass over the net?" It has already ruled out the thinking of it meaning going under or through the net in the previous rule 13.3.2. Therefore, what could possibly be enacted for the rule 13.3.3 to be met? Does this mean that if Player X hits the shuttle over the net to Player Y and Player Y makes contact with the shuttle but the shot was too difficult to return back over and the shuttle just lands on the floor, or hits the net then lands on floor, is classed as 'failing to pass over the net?

    I Hope some individual rule master can clarify these queries for me lol

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    2,372
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    See replies inline.

    Quote Originally Posted by todd89 View Post
    Two questions need clarifying for me please:
    1. During the service, is it:
    classed as a fault if the shuttle goes out of the boundary lines - as in out of the entire court?
    YES

    classed as a fault if the shuttle gets caught in the net on the servers side? (the official rules only mentions it is a fault if the shuttle passes over the net to the 'opponent's side' and gets caught)
    YES

    classed as a fault if the server serves the shuttle and it hits the net on their side and falls on their side?
    YES if it is short of the service line.

    classed as a fault if the shuttle passes over the net to the opponents side but lands on the floor just in front of the the net? e.g before the short service line
    YES

    (Maybe these are implied and I am not 'reading between the lines' as some would say, but surely rules should attempt to allay any queries?)

    2. What is exactly meant by rule 13.3.3 - "It shall be a fault if, in play, the shuttle fails to pass over the net?" It has already ruled out the thinking of it meaning going under or through the net in the previous rule 13.3.2. Therefore, what could possibly be enacted for the rule 13.3.3 to be met? Does this mean that if Player X hits the shuttle over the net to Player Y and Player Y makes contact with the shuttle but the shot was too difficult to return back over and the shuttle just lands on the floor, or hits the net then lands on floor, is classed as 'failing to pass over the net?
    Shuttle could go around the side of the posts although why someone would play an obviously out of bounds play is another question.

    I Hope some individual rule master can clarify these queries for me lol

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,067
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by todd89 View Post
    Two questions need clarifying for me please:
    1. During the service, is it:
    classed as a fault if the shuttle goes out of the boundary lines - as in out of the entire court?
    If by 'goes out', you mean lands out, then yes. The shuttle can fly two courts over whilst in the air, but if it lands in, it's in!

    OP, I don't think you need to read between any lines for answers to these, you just need to read the (or more) rules.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    NorCal, United States
    Posts
    910
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by todd89 View Post
    Two questions need clarifying for me please:
    1. During the service, is it:
    classed as a fault if the shuttle goes out of the boundary lines - as in out of the entire court?

    classed as a fault if the shuttle gets caught in the net on the servers side? (the official rules only mentions it is a fault if the shuttle passes over the net to the 'opponent's side' and gets caught)

    classed as a fault if the server serves the shuttle and it hits the net on their side and falls on their side?

    classed as a fault if the shuttle passes over the net to the opponents side but lands on the floor just in front of the the net? e.g before the short service line

    (Maybe these are implied and I am not 'reading between the lines' as some would say, but surely rules should attempt to allay any queries?)

    2. What is exactly meant by rule 13.3.3 - "It shall be a fault if, in play, the shuttle fails to pass over the net?" It has already ruled out the thinking of it meaning going under or through the net in the previous rule 13.3.2. Therefore, what could possibly be enacted for the rule 13.3.3 to be met? Does this mean that if Player X hits the shuttle over the net to Player Y and Player Y makes contact with the shuttle but the shot was too difficult to return back over and the shuttle just lands on the floor, or hits the net then lands on floor, is classed as 'failing to pass over the net?

    I Hope some individual rule master can clarify these queries for me lol
    #1A, B, C & D, yes it is a fault.

    13. Faults

    It shall be a 'fault':

    13.1 if a service is not correct (Law 9.1)

    In a correct service,

    9.1.8 the flight of the shuttle shall be upwards from the server's racket to pass over the net so that, if not intercepted, it shall land in the receiver's service court (i.e. on or within the boundary lines)

    Therefore, it is a fault since the service is not correct due to the fact that it does not land on or within the boundary lines.

    #2) It means that you hit the shuttle into the ground, or the shuttle goes off your racket and travels away from the net, or any other meaning so that the shuttle doesn't pass over the net, it would be considered a fault.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    406
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by todd89 View Post
    2. What is exactly meant by rule 13.3.3 - "It shall be a fault if, in play, the shuttle fails to pass over the net?" It has already ruled out the thinking of it meaning going under or through the net in the previous rule 13.3.2. Therefore, what could possibly be enacted for the rule 13.3.3 to be met?
    Here is a situation where it applies. A player mistakenly hits a shuttle that was going out the side of the court. They play a drive which goes around the side of the post (not over the net) and lands inside the opponent's court. According to rule 13.3.3 such a shot is a fault.

Similar Threads

  1. LD rules!
    By LD rules! in forum Introduction
    Replies: 11
    : 04-08-2009, 12:39 PM
  2. Rules
    By LightningChi in forum General Forum
    Replies: 9
    : 06-19-2007, 11:16 PM
  3. IBF Rules???
    By elmiyemb in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 4
    : 02-27-2007, 01:53 AM
  4. Rules
    By kaustubh in forum General Forum
    Replies: 1
    : 01-16-2006, 02:52 AM
  5. Rules
    By Drew Burlingame in forum General Forum
    Replies: 1
    : 05-24-2000, 10:09 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •