Need help on strategy!

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by reenignelivic, May 22, 2003.

1. reenignelivic

reenignelivic Regular Member

Student
    Hi everyone,

I am a badminton newbie. I have just started playing twice a week in these couple months. It has been fun, actually helpful and educational, to read the threads here. I learn alot :D from you.

Besides this must-read badminton website, I also go through other badminton sites looking for tips and tricks to improve my skill in double play. Earlier, I got into the University of Waterloo Badminton Club website http://www.csclub.uwaterloo.ca/clubs/badminto/tips.html

The following two tips are given in the web site:
    A) Underhand drops should be crosscourt.
    B) Overhead drops (only very occasionally as a change of pace) must be to the centre of the court.

Why should underhand drops be crosscourt (only)? Why must overhead drops be aimed towards the centre of the court?

I think that these tips may not be always true. However, I believe there must be some logic behind them. Would anyone tell me the logic behind the tips?

2. Neil Nicholls

Neil Nicholls Regular Member

I think the logic behind those tips, and the Strategy documents in general, is that it is for a University Badminton Club. It is liable to have a rapid turnover of members (many may never have played badminton before), so it is more efficient to teach everyone the same simple strategy.

Those 2 tips in particular may work well if your opposition are also following the same simple strategy.

3. LazyBuddy

LazyBuddy Regular Member

Engineer
    Agree.

Regular college club players might not have a whole lot of experience in badminton when they join. Therefore, general tips should go with the "safe path". However, once ur own experience build up, u might find ur own strategy which kinda "against" the general rules. As long as it works for u, it should be ok.