Tensioning Problem

Discussion in 'Badminton Stringing Techniques & Tools' started by Stephen_, Aug 22, 2011.

1. Stephen_

Stephen_ New Member

Hi,
    I'm new to stringing and I have a Pro's Pro Challenger II drop weight machine. I have strung 2 or 3 rackets before with cheap string with no problems. Recently I bought a reel of bg65 ti string and pre strung one of my rackets. I clamped the string with a fixed clamp and started to tension, I got the drop weight to the correct tension 24lbs and as I was about it clamp the string the drop weight suddenly dropped :confused: So I released the string and try to tension again but the same thing. As I lower the drop weight it seems to be pulling to the right tension and staying in place and then just drops :confused: Any ideas what is causing this or how to fix it ?

2. kwun

kwun Administrator

BC Janitor
    is the gripper not gripping the string tightly? if the gripper slips then the weight will drop.

is it dropping suddenly or gradually?

3. Stephen_

Stephen_ New Member

It drops suddenly

And I checked the gripper right after and it was still holding the string tightly

4. silentheart

silentheart Regular Member

Slippery suckers isn't it. Get a alcohol swap and clean up the clamping plate. The problem is BG65ti has a coating that is slippery.

5. Stephen_

Stephen_ New Member

Thanks Il try that :)

6. R20190

R20190 Regular Member

Chartered Civil Engineer
    Did you buy the strings from Ebay?

I found that fake yonex strings are a lot more slippery than genuine yonex strings. My fixed clamps don't grip fake strings very well and slip even at low tension.

7. Stephen_

Stephen_ New Member

They are genuine yonex strings.I have fixed the problem now .. the string was slipping a bit through the gripper. I was just stuck a bit a paper in there and its fine now thanks

8. LazyBuddy

LazyBuddy Regular Member

Engineer