User Tag List

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Regular Member arfandy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    China, Thailand, & Indonesia
    Posts
    617
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Racket changes hand during the official tournament

    I've been wondering for a while now, since many pro players are able to use both their hands to play badminton, either left/right hand.. so would that be okay to use either left/right hand during the play? for example, LD is a left-hand player, then in the middle of the game he suddenly decided to use his right-hand to confuse the opponent. would that be okay? or LCW uses left-hand side and vice versa throughout the entire game.

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    406
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I've never seen it done, but I don't think there's anything in the rules to prevent it.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    HDB
    Posts
    73
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    it is okay, no rules forbiding you change racket hand. in fact you can bring two rackets both left and right hands. again, there is no rules saying you can;t only the balancing is a problem.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    95
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BaoQingWang View Post
    it is okay, no rules forbiding you change racket hand. in fact you can bring two rackets both left and right hands. again, there is no rules saying you can;t only the balancing is a problem.
    Wait a minute...this can't be true can it?

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    HDB
    Posts
    73
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KinkySmasher View Post
    Wait a minute...this can't be true can it?
    Again, in Laws of Badminton, there is no section or specific rules saying one racket per player. Like i said, the balancing would be a problem if someone is to carry two rackets with hands. Holding shuttle during service is another challenge!
    So YES, i mean it :-)
    I was surprised too when i heard it from a senior umpire

  6. #6
    Regular Member Mark A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    St Helens, UK
    Posts
    4,367
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by alexh View Post
    I've never seen it done, but I don't think there's anything in the rules to prevent it.
    I have: a lad called Connor at my club did it regularly enough that he didn't have a backhand. He's so ambidextrous I can't tell which is his dominant hand - he bowls right-handed but, like me, plays snooker left-handed...

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Burnaby, BC, Canada
    Posts
    1,474
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Dual-wielding rackets. That would be a sight to see.

  8. #8
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    35,948
    Mentioned
    54 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    interesting. the only thing that can be derived from the law is that every where "racket" is referred to, it is singular and not plural...

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Burnaby, BC, Canada
    Posts
    1,474
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kwun View Post
    interesting. the only thing that can be derived from the law is that every where "racket" is referred to, it is singular and not plural...
    Maybe because only one racket can hit the shuttle at one time?
    Or it only takes one racket to cause an infraction?

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    HDB
    Posts
    73
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CanucksDynasty View Post
    Dual-wielding rackets. That would be a sight to see.
    by the way, the law of badminton does regulate on the shape of the racket. So, i am afraid the creative dual-wielding rackets could not be used :-)

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    HDB
    Posts
    73
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CanucksDynasty View Post
    Maybe because only one racket can hit the shuttle at one time?
    Or it only takes one racket to cause an infraction?
    yeah, agree. only one racket hits the shuttle in one end. if the law says racket(s), it means fault :-)

Similar Threads

  1. WTB: WTB: Any second hand Yonex racket.
    By dickson825 in forum Buy & Sell - Read the rules sticky before you post
    Replies: 4
    : 09-11-2011, 10:00 AM
  2. what way is your non racket hand facing?
    By charliebadders in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 11
    : 05-19-2010, 08:03 PM
  3. new China team official racket bag by Li ning
    By Aelredf in forum Badminton Bag
    Replies: 0
    : 03-26-2010, 04:17 AM
  4. selling second hand racket
    By Alexch in forum Buy & Sell - Read the rules sticky before you post
    Replies: 0
    : 12-08-2008, 04:17 AM
  5. 2nd hand racket
    By sheta in forum Market Place
    Replies: 18
    : 03-19-2007, 10:31 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •