User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 17 of 26
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    San Jose, California, USA
    Posts
    262
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Serving under and between your legs

    My friend did this wierd serve....and now i'm starting to do it to crack people up...

    I usually do this in mixed doubles, first you hold the birdy then drop it till it goes under your waist, then you flick the racket under your legs and between them to serve the birdy over the net. I know you can do this shot during a rally, (I do it all the time! ) but is it legal to do it while your serving?

    Anyone ever tried returning a smash doing this?? It looks so cool!

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Outside the box
    Posts
    13,498
    Mentioned
    35 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Sounds OK but you can check the rule book to see if you are still within the laws.

    And yes, I guess most regular players have returned a smash like this at some point or another.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Petaling Jaya, S'gor, M'sia
    Posts
    1,338
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Lol... I see people do it all the time... but I never thought anyone would take it seriously... You're the first person I've met who's actually serious about trying it in a real game!!!

    Looks cool eh... most likely it'll just make people think you're playing a fool.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    toronto
    Posts
    57
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default hehe..

    yea i've seen a couple of people do it
    and alot of people trying to attemp to make the shot during the game.

    i've seen more crazy ones..run backwards for a high clear..and the wait til the bird drops low and hit the bird behind you through the legs..

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    649
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    probably the funniest thing is to do some really ridiculous serve (in a tournament mind you) and then have the other guy just stand there thinking that ur just joking... and when it lands in, and you change sides, you get into a huge arguement... haha....

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    964
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Funny! But if you make it a habit you might get used to it!

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    973
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Oh man, that'll be funny if you got an ace like that on game point or something!

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Back in Sudbury, ON
    Posts
    100
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    how about for the receiver to do a little deception?

    I've seen the receiver pretend to reach for the bird with their hand as if to catch the bird, then use their racquet to hit the shot.

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    649
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    actually, i was curious about this one thing i did when i was playing with my friend....

    we were playing, and i made her laugh really hard and she missed the bird... i didn't say anything, it was all because of my crazy movements in an attempt to do some deception.... does that count as a fault on my part?? cuz i did intentionally try to make her laugh =)

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    973
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Originally posted by Nanashi
    actually, i was curious about this one thing i did when i was playing with my friend....

    we were playing, and i made her laugh really hard and she missed the bird... i didn't say anything, it was all because of my crazy movements in an attempt to do some deception.... does that count as a fault on my part?? cuz i did intentionally try to make her laugh =)
    Hmm since it was intentional then I think that's against the rules since you can't like distract the opponent but, what if it's your technique or something e.g. Monica Seles screaming after every hit! LOL!

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    554
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    There's nothing illegal about serving that way as long as you keep to the rules, esp. the one about not interrupting the forward motion of the racquet. You might have the element of surprise going for you at first, but you basically make it harder for you and easier for the receiver. Besides the fact that it would much harder to control than a standard serve, you're hitting from a lower position and from further away from the net than if you contact it out in front of you.

    As for doing this in a rally, I knew a very good player from Thailand who returned all smashes hit low to his body this way, and smashes hit to his backside, he returned with a behind-the-back shot. He wasn't clowning around--that's how he always returned these shots.

  12. #12
    Regular Member Loh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Singapore Also Can
    Posts
    11,963
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Like Californian, I think it is a disadvantage to serve between the legs, other than the element of surprise. Unless one has "perfected" the serve, the contact point is way below the 'waist' and therefore the bird will fly in a more acute upward direction, presenting the opponent with a better chance to attack it. Unless the server stands further away from the service line to 'flatten' the flight path, the service will be more defensive than otherwise. Most doubles servers try to serve from as high as possible, not low, to make it harder for the opponent to kill the serve and some of these serves ended up as illegal serves.

    I suppose this between the legs serve is not illegal if they are within the framework of the rules. As stated, on the contrary, such serves are more likely to be a disadvantage, especially when used more than once, since your opponent will get wise to it.

  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    boston, ma, US
    Posts
    808
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    hard to imagine how this shot could be an advantage besides surprise factor. whatevers works for you i guess.

  14. #14
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    San Jose, California, USA
    Posts
    262
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Not only is there a surpirse factor when your serving under the legs, but theres also a cool factor

  15. #15
    Regular Member Loh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Singapore Also Can
    Posts
    11,963
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Originally posted by jwu
    hard to imagine how this shot could be an advantage besides surprise factor. whatevers works for you i guess.
    Hi jwu

    Nice to hear from you. I guess things are working OK with you now. Hope you enjoy your new job and the company of your new colleagues.

    I've only returned shots between the legs very rarely but slightly more often from behind my back. Those returns were done usually out of desperation and when I in a tight spot rather than of choice, as in the case of service.

  16. #16
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    973
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Originally posted by odjn
    Not only is there a surpirse factor when your serving under the legs, but theres also a cool factor
    haha, and if you miss? LOL, there goes .. your future. . .

  17. #17
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    1,748
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Well a little bit off topic but also serving.

    A few years back a kid was not allowed to play in a tournament because he had one arm underdeveloped (polio?). The officials mentioned he possibly would not serve properly since he could not fully use his not racquet arm. And I then asked, was there any rule that stipulates that when serving you have to hold the shuttle with your non-racquet hand?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Pain in my legs.
    By alexd953 in forum Injuries
    Replies: 4
    : 08-24-2011, 10:36 PM
  2. sore legs
    By David_Allan in forum Injuries
    Replies: 11
    : 04-25-2010, 07:36 PM
  3. How big are your legs?
    By Kc_uk in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 42
    : 08-31-2005, 05:46 AM
  4. What kind of legs do you have?
    By Dave18 in forum Chit-Chat
    Replies: 17
    : 02-04-2005, 10:08 AM
  5. check out those legs...
    By kwun in forum China Professional Players
    Replies: 13
    : 03-25-2004, 01:47 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •