Moving into YY from Carlton VTT - Please advice

Discussion in 'Racket Recommendation / Comparison' started by riuryK, Sep 7, 2011.

1. riuryK

riuryK Regular Member

Programmer
    Hi there,

I'd like to have your advice on Yonex rackets. I never had a YY before, and want to buy one, but of course I'd like to buy the "right" one. The "problem" is that there's a huge bunch of YY on the market, and don't even know which YY serie suits my game. :confused:

Having said that, let me tell you I've been playing badminton for a couple of years, but have improved very quickly. I would describe my level as advance-intermediate. I'm really keen on badminton videos (technique, tactics, and so on), and I think I put it in practice relatively well. In fact my rivals say I have a very good technique when performing the strokes.

Well, my style of play... I favor technical style of play (or should I say all-round) rather than agressive style. In other words, I try to use the full-court by playing drops, clears, lifts, net shots rather that intensively smashing from everywhere and under every circumstances. Of course I love to smash when needed, but I prefer playing long rallies, and outplay my opponent by making him/her run all over the cours, change direction and so on instead of winning the rally by smashing the shuttle on the floor. Please don't get me wrong: if my rival returns a mid-court high shuttle in an (failed) attempt to clear, you bet I'll smash the shuttle down! :rolleyes:

My actual racket is a CARLTON VAPOUR TRAIL TOUR, as you might know a good all-round racket which gives me speed when in defence and around the net, and decent power for deep clears and smashes.

Back to the topic, I was first considering the ARCSABER 5, since in one of the reviews I read about the CARLTON VTT, they say this YY ARC5 is supposed to be quite similar. I was also very tempted by the price/quality ratio of the VOLTRIC 5, even though I think this one is further from what I'm looking for.