User Tag List

Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    US of A
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Doubles Service Question

    Wanted a quick clarification, as the rule book tend to be generic.

    Scenario is for Doubles Play.

    Is it legal to serve from the right/left side outer line(assuming that the server is not stepping on the outline line itself) ?

    Is it legal to step on the right/left inner side line while doing the above ?

    TIA for any thoughts/pointers in this regards.

    _Ben

  2. #2
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    35,945
    Mentioned
    54 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    the server must be inside the service court without touching the lines. you can be anywhere within that boundary as you wish.

    9. SERVICE
    9.1 In a correct service,
    9.1.2 the server and the receiver shall stand within diagonally opposite service courts (Diagram
    A) without touching the boundary lines of these service courts;

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    US of A
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thx for the response. This clarifies a bit. But then can the server step on the inner line and serve ?

    _B

  4. #4
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    35,945
    Mentioned
    54 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by binuwil View Post
    Thx for the response. This clarifies a bit. But then can the server step on the inner line and serve ?

    _B
    inner line is considered a boundary line of the service court. so the answer is no.

  5. #5
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    9,520
    Mentioned
    115 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    For the doubles scenario you mentioned, yes to question 1 and yes to question 2, because the inner line is the boundary for singles not doubles.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, Malaysia
    Posts
    698
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by binuwil View Post
    ....... But then can the server step on the inner line and serve ?_B
    A very popular question asked if you're going for a coaching certificate. Below picture can explain the above question.

    Name:  Double service.JPG
Views: 208
Size:  17.8 KB

    A: Server
    B: Receiver

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    coming to a court near you...
    Posts
    28,044
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shooting stroke View Post
    A very popular question asked if you're going for a coaching certificate. Below picture can explain the above question.

    Name:  Double service.JPG
Views: 208
Size:  17.8 KB

    A: Server
    B: Receiver
    Can the server stand between the inner and outer side lines (as long as he is not touching them)?

  8. #8
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    9,520
    Mentioned
    115 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shooting stroke View Post
    A very popular question asked if you're going for a coaching certificate. Below picture can explain the above question.Name:  Double service.JPG
Views: 208
Size:  17.8 KBA: ServerB: Receiver
    That diagram refers to singles, OP is asking about doubles.

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, Malaysia
    Posts
    698
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by madbad View Post
    Can the server stand between the inner and outer side lines (as long as he is not touching them)?
    Since that small space is still a legal area to do a service and as clearly define by kwun earlier referring to BWF rule, yes you can as long you don't touch the lines.
    Last edited by shooting stroke; 09-29-2011 at 08:25 PM.

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    coming to a court near you...
    Posts
    28,044
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shooting stroke View Post
    Since that small space is still a legal area to do a service and as clearly define by kwun earlier referring to BWF rule, yes you can as long you don't touch the lines.
    Cool! I'll try that next time and see how others react

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    NorCal, United States
    Posts
    897
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    What visor said is very interesting, as the singles out line is not considered a boundary line for service in doubles.

    But, now that I read the rules and look at the diagram, the rules state that you must stand within diagonally service opposite service courts, the diagram only shows that from the doubles back line to the singles side line to the center line, is considered the service court area.

    This is an interesting question. I will attempt to bring it up to other umpires and see what their input is.

  12. #12
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    35,945
    Mentioned
    54 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    that's just a not clear diagram. someone should be shot for it.

  13. #13
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    9,520
    Mentioned
    115 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Seriously guys, it's not that hard. In doubles, the inside side line is NOT a boundary line, so stepping on it is not illegal according to rule 9.1.2.A. In fact, some smart-ass in doubles would occasionally serve from that corner to the inside rear T and they do this while stepping on that inside side line.

  14. #14
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    35,945
    Mentioned
    54 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by visor View Post
    Seriously guys, it's not that hard. In doubles, the inside side line is NOT a boundary line, so stepping on it is not illegal according to rule 9.1.2.A. In fact, some smart-ass in doubles would occasionally serve from that corner to the inside rear T and they do this while stepping on that inside side line.
    yes. i think that's pretty clear for us seasoned players.

    the problem is that the rule is not clear about it and it really should be being the book of laws that governs how the game is played.

  15. #15
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    US of A
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thx to all for some of the thoughts shared.

    We have some good level of clarity. Would've hoped this to be mentioned in the rule book appropriately.

    _Ben

  16. #16
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    NorCal, United States
    Posts
    897
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    So, I talked it over with another umpire, and he said that stepping on the singles line is okay. So what Visor said is correct, because that line is not a boundary line for doubles.

Similar Threads

  1. Mixed doubles: man's service return question
    By alexh in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 10
    : 03-16-2011, 08:06 AM
  2. service question
    By Elixau in forum General Forum
    Replies: 9
    : 11-20-2007, 04:08 AM
  3. Service Question
    By harmono in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 4
    : 06-26-2006, 01:00 AM
  4. Service question
    By ymerej in forum General Forum
    Replies: 2
    : 12-18-2005, 12:35 PM
  5. another service question...
    By AhNgaU in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 11
    : 06-05-2002, 06:50 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •