Results 1 to 8 of 8
Thread: Badminton posts ricochet
10-25-2012, 12:58 PM #1
Badminton posts ricochet
So I had an argument with one of my club-mates a few weeks ago...he said that if the shuttle hits the post and ricochets off and falls in (considering the shuttle hits the post over the net height), it would be considered as in play. Is this correct?
10-25-2012, 01:04 PM #2
no if it touches the poll or any other exterior objects it is a fault
10-25-2012, 03:33 PM #3
If the shuttle touches anything but the racket it is considered a fault.
10-25-2012, 03:37 PM #4
Not quite right the posts are considered a part of the net, so as long as the shuttle passes over the net the shuttle is considered in play. Ie. it is not a fault.
It actually doesn't matter which part of the post it hits, as long as it passes over the net afterwards.
10-25-2012, 04:25 PM #5
sorry if i confused anyone i reread the laws and seems i imagined that rule, kryssler got it right
10-25-2012, 08:52 PM #6
Thanks all for your answers !
10-25-2012, 10:53 PM #7
What krysser said is correct. The post is considered to be part of the net, and as long as the shuttle crosses over the net, even if it hits the post, shall be considered in play...With I believe one exception (which I'm not sure about, us umpires like to come up with all the unlikely possibilities)
which is, if the post is higher than 5' 1" (in some gyms that do not have official posts) and it hits off the top inner part of the post and bounces in. If that were to happen, it would be up to the referee if one is present.
I think I made this more confusing for you all haha.
10-29-2012, 02:05 AM #8