American Badminton

Discussion in 'General Forum' started by mark, Mar 23, 2001.

1. mark

mark Guest

I am new to the site and was wondering how big badminton is in America? Is the sport becoming more popular?

I started playing about three years ago and quickly realised that badminton is dying in England. Every year clubs are folding and older people tell me the standard of players are also dropping. This has completely gutted me because I have grown to love the sport and want to be able to play for years yet.

Good website though!

2. Zclyh3

Zclyh3 Regular Member

Not employed during academic school yeah
    Badminton is SORT of big here in USA. But the problem is that there is no televising of the sport and high schools and districts could care less about badminton. I know of one school (James Logan High) in Union City of California and the badminton team receives NO funding at all. The coach has to shell out money for themselves and the players has to raise money to pay him back. They don't get top priority and they are the last. I'll also tell you another thing. Yesterday while driving home, my friend encountered a previous member of our badminton team. He yelled across the cars and asked if he still played badminton. Then out of nowhere, this guy in a semi-monster starting laughing really loud and shouted "Badminton!" and cracked up even more. Then I yelled at him and said, "We'll play you anytime man..ANYTIME!" His then cracking up face became a serious one...at least that shutted him up. Most Americans think this is a backyard sport. But when we play some of them in school, we take them out like nothing.

3. marshall

marshall Regular Member

Computer Security Manager
    In my experience, everyone who sees the game played competitively respects it, even if they've never seen a good badminton game before. the problem, as all of us have repeated every time this topic starts, is getting the general public exposed to good badminton.

4. Don