User Tag List

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Timmins, Ontario
    Posts
    35
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default what's the rule on this?

    so.. i was watching a game being played by the kids a month ago and something really weird happened. First i should mention that high schoolers here player with nylon. It was a doubles game and the player does a cross court drop at the net. The other player digs it out and crawls up and over the net. This is what is weird.

    The shuttle crawled down and then the "feather" got stuck in the net. What would the call on this? I told them to make it a let but i talked to another coach and she said it should be a let because the player got the shot over. My reply to that was, "ya but, the shuttle is still in play".

    Any idea?

    oh, i haven't checked the rules in awhile but, I know before, you can hit the shuttle twice and it was legal as long as it's 1 fluid motion. Does this rule still apply? Same with the rule of throwing the racquet. I know that before, you could throw your racquet and if it somehow hit the shuttle and went over, it was a legal shot. Does this still apply as well?

  2. #2
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    9,171
    Mentioned
    95 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Q1: yes it's a let because the bird doesn't fall into the ground. (Rule 14.2.3.2) ..... Q2: yes legal if one fluid stroke. .....Q3: no rules saying the racket has to be held in hand. .
    Last edited by visor; 10-10-2011 at 12:24 PM.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    NorCal, United States
    Posts
    860
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Q1: This was on my umpire exam, it is considered a let. No matter how tight the net shot would be, if it goes over, the other player can still attempt a net shot to make it over, you don't know what will happen. But since it is stuck onto the net, that player cannot attempt the shot any longer, so it is unfair to them.

    Q2: It has to hit the frame and the strings for it to be legal in 1 motion.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    405
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Q1: correct, but this is only for a shot played during a rally. If it happens on service then it's a fault. And I've seen this happen with a feather shuttle too.

  5. #5
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    9,171
    Mentioned
    95 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by alexh View Post
    Q1: correct, but this is only for a shot played during a rally. If it happens on service then it's a fault. And I've seen this happen with a feather shuttle too.
    Good catch! :thumbsup: Rule 13.2.1 and 13.2.2. I suppose because if the shuttle does finally fall, it'll be way short of the service line anyways.
    Last edited by visor; 10-13-2011 at 10:54 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. Do u prefer 15 points rule or 21 points rule?
    By Smichz in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 56
    : 03-07-2012, 12:06 AM
  2. Interesting IBF rule
    By silentheart in forum General Forum
    Replies: 10
    : 03-07-2006, 04:53 PM
  3. What Rule(Law) would you change....
    By serviceover in forum General Forum
    Replies: 18
    : 02-03-2006, 02:33 PM
  4. Receiving rule
    By seanrachy in forum General Forum
    Replies: 18
    : 01-27-2006, 04:06 PM
  5. consider this rule ...
    By badrad in forum General Forum
    Replies: 8
    : 04-19-2003, 07:56 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •