Difficult to smash

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by observer, Oct 13, 2011.

1. observer

observer Regular Member

Hi,
    I found when people lift/clear the shuttle to rear court. when shuttle moving downward 90 degree, i found out it is very difficult to smash.

90 degree.jpg

Any advice? or this kind if shuttle dropping downward 90degree not meant to be smash?
    may be the drawing not that clear but the shuttle is coming down like 90 degree above my head. But hope can gain some tips. :rolleyes::rolleyes:

2. Leon Lim

Leon Lim Regular Member

move back, the best spot for smash is one elbow length to the front and around 160 degrees from the ground. this is my experience but i am still a noob and i believe that the pros would have better advice

3. Capnx

Capnx Regular Member

yes, if the clear is very high and deep that pushes you all the way to the back line, it may actually not be a good idea to smash in singles unless you're very good. you can try to learn to jump smash, which will add a steeper angle to your smash but doesn't mean it'll be harder; if you don't jump, smashing at back court may be more of a flatter flight. either way (jump or no jump), smashing at back court can open yourself to counter attacks.

what you can try is using smash to create opportunities instead of instantly winning a point. vary the speed and angle of your smash, then follow up. if you know your opponent likes to simply block smashes, then smash and followup to the net and try to rush him that way. but using smash to create oppportunities can be very tiring because you're the one that'll be running/attacking.

4. observer

observer Regular Member

Normally with you smash from back court, do you make sure the contact point is one arm to reach the shuttle with an angle about 10 to 15 degree infront you or may be more? shuttle.jpg

5. observer

observer Regular Member

Hi Capnx,