User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 17 of 22
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    18
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Does the shuttle have to go over the net

    Hi all,
    Don't know if this question has been asked before so I apologise in advance if I duplicate a previous thread.

    During a game of doubles my partner completely lost his bearings and decided to play a shot approximately 4 feet from the side line (shuttle would have landed on our neighbours court)
    The shuttle did not go over the net in actual fact it went about halfway high only, but due to shot being played so far wide the net did not come in to play as the shuttle went past the post.

    My question is this a point or does the shuttle have to travel over the net.
    Sunny.

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    60
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yes. If the shuttle hit by your team does not go over the net, the rally is over; the other side gets a point and the next serve (if any):

    Quote Originally Posted by Laws of Badminton, 13.3.3
    It shall be a fault if, in play, the shuttle fails to pass over the net.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    118
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by phihag View Post
    Yes. If the shuttle hit by your team does not go over the net, the rally is over; the other side gets a point and the next serve (if any):
    But there's no net to pass over at the sides.

    I would say it should count. It's more likely to happen in tennis and you're allowed to hit around the posts. (and yes I know this is badminton.)

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Smashikon, Driveland
    Posts
    854
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    As opposed to tennis, this does never happen in any kind of serious badminton match.

    Very theoretical question...

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    60
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rimano View Post
    But there's no net to pass over at the sides.
    Precisely. Therefore, it is a fault, per rule 13.3.3.

    Quote Originally Posted by Rimano View Post
    I would say it should count.
    In recreational play, you can of course make up any rules you'd like, but per the official rules it's a fault.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    162
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yeah I think officially it's a fault regardless of the height if it doesn't pass the net.

  7. #7
    Regular Member craigandy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,021
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    phihag is totally correct, it would not matter how high it was, if it does not pass over the net which is defined from outside doubles tramline to outside doubles tramline then it is a fault. That is the rules.
    @ footwork - I know people who can swerve the shuttle from inside the court out round the post and back in using an underhand stroke close to the net, so it is not that theoretical, players would use it if they could. Hence why the rule should be there because it would be a bit rubbish if you played a drop down the line and your opponent just played it from 6inches off the ground, swerved it round the post at that height and it lands in.
    Last edited by craigandy; 03-07-2015 at 05:29 AM.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Smashikon, Driveland
    Posts
    854
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by craigandy View Post
    @ footwork - I know people who can swerve the shuttle from inside the court out round the post and back in using an underhand stroke close to the net, so it is not that theoretical, players would use it if they could. Hence why the rule should be there because it would be a bit rubbish if you played a drop down the line and your opponent just played it from 6inches off the ground, swerved it round the post at that height and it lands in.
    I have yet to see such an action IN A REAL GAME SITUATION...

  9. #9
    Regular Member craigandy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,021
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by |_Footwork_| View Post
    I have yet to see such an action IN A REAL GAME SITUATION...
    yeah that's because you need to be good to do it and good players know the rules but if the rule wasn't there you would. I have seen it be argued in serious games when sideline clears are played with a drift. Anyway my point was it is not that theoretical.

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Surrey, Canada
    Posts
    1,620
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Man, I would seriously hate to play against someone who can make a shuttle wrap/boomerang around the post - regardless if it was legal or not. I would like to be their partner tho!

  11. #11
    Regular Member craigandy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,021
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by badrad View Post
    Man, I would seriously hate to play against someone who can make a shuttle wrap/boomerang around the post - regardless if it was legal or not. I would like to be their partner tho!
    Haha. Something you could learn with Couple hours practice, completely pointless to do so though as it is useless. I fear you may think I am talking serious movement here but only talking couple inches out and back.

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    80
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by phihag View Post
    Precisely. Therefore, it is a fault, per rule 13.3.3.



    In recreational play, you can of course make up any rules you'd like, but per the official rules it's a fault.
    But hold on. Some nets are setup from line to line (like the pro tournaments), while other setups may have multiple nets connected with poles between adjacent courts propping them up. So on one setup the shot is illegal, and fine with the other?

  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    80
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    deleted this duplicate
    Last edited by jjashik; 03-19-2015 at 02:02 AM. Reason: deleted duplicate

  14. #14
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    18
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jjashik View Post
    deleted this duplicate
    I have played badminton in Singapore on courts that have a continuous net running from one end of the hall to the other, the net would stretch over 5 or 6 courts and would make the shot impossible to play, but when you 2 poles with a net it makes the shot possible, but the legality I'm still not sure on.

  15. #15
    Regular Member Loh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Singapore Also Can
    Posts
    12,891
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I could not find the relevant rule relating to this, as I could not access the BWF Laws website.

    But I remembered that an incident like this is legal, i.e, during a rally, a shuttle hit round the post but falls in court on the opponents side is not a fault. It should therefore be a point scored if the shuttle is not returned.

    Unless the rule has changed.

  16. #16
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    60
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jjashik View Post
    But hold on. Some (...) setups may have multiple nets connected with poles between adjacent courts propping them up.
    Those setups are not - strictly speaking - legal:

    Quote Originally Posted by Laws of Badminton
    1.5 The posts shall be placed on the doubles side lines as in Diagram A (...). The posts or its supports shall not extend into the court beyond the side lines.

    1.11 There shall be no gaps between the ends of the net and the posts. If necessary, the full depth
    of the net at the ends shall be tied to the posts.
    I'm assuming that there is one pole between two courts. If you are using two poles (one on each sideline), then the part of the net between those two poles does not count as net per the rules.

    In a high-level tournament (i.e. with umpires), the referee will usually declare any courts that do not have a pole on the sideline - or aren't tight with the net - as warm-up courts and play matches on the other ones.

  17. #17
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    4,105
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sunny_1 View Post
    I have played badminton in Singapore on courts that have a continuous net running from one end of the hall to the other, the net would stretch over 5 or 6 courts and would make the shot impossible to play, but when you 2 poles with a net it makes the shot possible, but the legality I'm still not sure on.
    Um...

    Isn't this a problem due to the massive amount of sag in the middle of the net? The net height is going to be much lower in the centre court than at the ends.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •