Results 1 to 17 of 21
02-16-2014, 08:21 AM #1
Big error from umpire in ETC semifinal
In yesterday's ETC semifinal between Russia and Germany, at 19-19 in the second set, the umpire called a fault on the Russian woman when she was about to serve. She was preparing to serve a low backhand serve. She had completed her takeback of the racket, and then she aborted her service, probably because she was distracted by a motion of the receiver. Now we hear the umpire shouting "FAULT".
The umpire says nothing more, and the Russian girl is about to start her service again. But the German women obviously heard the umpire say fault, so they walk up to him. The umpire realizes he has to stick with what he said, so he says "service over, 20-19", hereby awarding a very crucial point to the Germans who could go on to take the second set 21-19.
In the set-break we can hear the service judge discuss with the umpire about his decision, explaining to the umpire that the service rule was not broken (the forward motion of the racket had not started), and we can hear the umpire at first trying to defend his decision (the serve has to be one fluent motion), and then I THINK I heard him saying "ok I guess I was wrong". Am I right in thinking that this was a bad mistake by the umpire? The service only begins upon the first forward-motion of the racket, right?
02-16-2014, 03:09 PM #2
02-16-2014, 06:16 PM #3
But can a let be called before the point has begun? Lets are called to stop a rally and replay the point. She hadn't served yet.
I guess it makes sense though, because as an umpire how can you not know the service rules. Maybe you are right, and he just didn't want to admit he called fault instead of let. But it's pretty scandalous either way.
The Russians won the 3rd set anyway so it didn't affect the outcome of this match. But they might have won in 2 sets and be fresher for today's final.
Last edited by vixter; 02-16-2014 at 06:19 PM.
02-17-2014, 01:52 AM #4
I am surprised the umpire calls a service fault when a service judge is there to do that for the umpire.
02-17-2014, 03:10 AM #5
that follow on discussion on the other thread re. video replays.
should players/coaches allow to challenge umpire decision with video replay?
02-17-2014, 03:51 AM #6
Um, you cannot have a service fault before the shuttle is served.
I'm surprised the Russians didn't ask to see the chief referee.
02-17-2014, 05:29 AM #7
02-17-2014, 05:50 AM #8
I have not seen it as streaming was not available here, but the call is legitimate enough. Aborting a serve because of distraction before you start your back swing is fair enough, but to abort after back swing is just games and should be faulted.(unless a foreign object fell on the court or something)
9.1.1 neither side shall cause undue delay to the delivery of the service once the server and the
receiver are ready for the service. On completion of the backward movement of server’s
racket head, any delay in the start of the service (Law 9.2), shall be considered to be an undue
02-17-2014, 06:06 AM #9
If the destraction is the receiver moving is it not fault receiver?
02-17-2014, 06:21 AM #10
If I was allowed to cancel serves after any takeback I could use this as a severe tactical advantage.
demolidor liked this post
02-17-2014, 06:22 AM #11
Well probably depended on what happened, I just had the fault receiver call in my head that actually happened in one of the MD matches.
Sounds like the server got caught out by a legal motion which would make it a correct call.
02-17-2014, 06:40 AM #12
strangely enough if the umpire did say this - "we can hear the umpire at first trying to defend his decision
"(the serve has to be one fluent motion)". "
Then the umpire was wrong about his statement because the service had not started, but luckily he had called a fault correctly anyways, because that is an undue delay fault as stated in 9.1.1
My feeling is the umpire knew the rule but did not express himself properly when challenged by the service judge at the interval.
02-17-2014, 07:15 AM #13
This makes sense to me now because after all, there was no protests from the Russian coaches. So I stand corrected, the call wasn't scandalous at all.
02-17-2014, 09:16 PM #14
Undue delay would be the call. It would be an umpire's decision to call undue delay of service (not the service judge).
Ma Jin was called on it once at match point by the umpire and Gillian Clark was arguing about what the umpire was doing, and that it should be the service judge's call (which is incorrect).
Anyways, if the umpire made a mistake, he should've apologized if he recognized it pretty instantly he made the wrong call. I guess there would be arguments and stuff, but I would've apologized and said I made a mistake (this wasn't a rally, this was before too). Humans make mistakes sometimes.
02-18-2014, 09:57 AM #15
On a side note. I did find the umpires at the ETC rather strange.
One umpire got so excited he made some sort of chicken noise mid rally 24m28s to 24m30s
There was also a WD match involving Corrales & Marin V German i think. The umpire seemed to take a dislike to the Spanish girls and on a few occasions after their opponents killed the shuttle he shouted out yess! Then called the score. It was quite bizarre.
02-18-2014, 03:48 PM #16
^LOLOLOL whyyy umpire is a chicken in disguise
03-17-2014, 03:46 AM #17
does anyone have video?