User Tag List

View Poll Results: Is Joaquim Fischer service illegal?

Voters
66. You may not vote on this poll
  • ILLEGAL

    43 65.15%
  • LEGAL

    23 34.85%
Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 LastLast
Results 1 to 17 of 123
  1. #1
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    10,138
    Mentioned
    136 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default Joaquim Fischer's double action serve illegal?

    Since he and his partner have been winning more tournaments recently (DO and FO), I've been watching more of his matches recently. He has an incredible intensity and desire when he plays that is lacking in so many other pro players.

    However, I've noticed that his serves have a double action every single time. The racket face will go forwards by 1-2 inches and then he'll pull it back to restart another forward motion, this time hitting the bird. I'm quite surprised that he hasn't been penalized on this by the service judges. Any one else notice this?

  2. #2
    Regular Member demolidor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    @Hollanti
    Posts
    11,831
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    But there is no backmotion first ... hence the serve hsan't started yet?

  3. #3
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    10,138
    Mentioned
    136 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by demolidor View Post
    But there is no backmotion first ... hence the serve hsan't started yet?
    9.1.7 the movement of the server's racket shall continue forwards from the start of the service (Law 9.2) until the service is delivered (Law 9.3);

    9.2 Once the players are ready for the service, the first forward movement of the server's racket head shall be the start of the service.


    No, the first forward motion is deemed the start of service according to 9.2, so by 9.1.7 his serve is illegal as it does not continue forwards the first time but goes back and then goes forward a second time.

  4. #4
    Regular Member demolidor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    @Hollanti
    Posts
    11,831
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    9.1 In a correct service:
    9.1.1 neither side shall cause undue delay to the delivery of the service once the server and the
    receiver are ready for the service. On completion of the backward movement of server’s
    racket head
    , any delay in the start of the service (Law 9.2), shall be considered to be an
    undue delay;

    But I guess that's just for the set position .. still downloading so I can watch it in slowmo ... only saw the one point from the qf match. No one seems to ever complain about it so I guess they don't see it as the start of the serve yet?
    Last edited by demolidor; 10-30-2011 at 11:07 PM.

  5. #5
    Regular Member demolidor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    @Hollanti
    Posts
    11,831
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    * ---- * * ---- *
    Last edited by demolidor; 10-30-2011 at 11:25 PM.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Carboard box mansion
    Posts
    1,031
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    interesting

    to be honest I haven't noticed prior reading this post and I've been watching so many of his matches lately

  7. #7
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    10,138
    Mentioned
    136 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Heong View Post
    interestingto be honest I haven't noticed prior reading this post and I've been watching so many of his matches lately
    Yeah, I didn't really notice it initially, but I can tell his action is kinda jerky, not smooth continuous forward. On slow mo replays that BWF shows sometimes after a good rally, you can see the double action more obviously.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,099
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Lin Dan used to do this as well. He has slightly changed his action now, though.

    It appears as though the judges take the stance that if it is consistent, and not intended to cause diception, then a fault will not be called. Even though technically, it (a double-action serve) is.

  9. #9
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    10,138
    Mentioned
    136 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by amleto View Post
    Lin Dan used to do this as well. He has slightly changed his action now, though.It appears as though the judges take the stance that if it is consistent, and not intended to cause diception, then a fault will not be called. Even though technically, it (a double-action serve) is.
    Come to think of it, that's right! LD did that all the time. Good point.

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    coming to a court near you...
    Posts
    28,044
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by visor View Post
    Come to think of it, that's right! LD did that all the time. Good point.
    In fact there was one video clip showing he did a triple-action service

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,992
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The interesting thing was if opponents start complaining about it pointing it out to the service judge.. If he have to change I am sure it would mess wth him :-) .. Perhaps they are saving it as a secret weapon for OG

  12. #12
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    10,138
    Mentioned
    136 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by madbad View Post
    In fact there was one video clip showing he did a triple-action service
    Perhaps he was just nervous serving to LCW?

  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    KL
    Posts
    781
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    can link the clip for us to see?

  14. #14
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    coming to a court near you...
    Posts
    28,044
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by moomoo View Post
    can link the clip for us to see?
    JF or LD? If LD, it was on a BC thread somewhere. Maybe some resourceful detective can dig it up.

  15. #15
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Nor Cal
    Posts
    711
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2XDAr...&feature=feedu

    At 2:09:39 you can easily see his double action serve. Actually didn't think about this thread until I was watching the replays. He definitely have an illegal serve and it's too bad he doesn't get called out on it. If I was playing I would definitely get thrown off by the serve for the first game or so.

  16. #16
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,992
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    seems illegal to me...


  17. #17
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    10,138
    Mentioned
    136 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by twobeer View Post
    The interesting thing was if opponents start complaining about it pointing it out to the service judge.. If he have to change I am sure it would mess wth him :-) .. Perhaps they are saving it as a secret weapon for OG
    A very good observation. This could be his Achilles heel if he doesn't correct it.

Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Illegal serve?
    By decoy in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 11
    : 10-07-2011, 10:54 PM
  2. Is Lin Dan's Serve Illegal?
    By sergesa in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 75
    : 04-10-2007, 12:54 AM
  3. my serve is illegal? please help...
    By yoyomonkey in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 7
    : 07-04-2006, 10:14 AM
  4. Serve illegal?
    By silentlight in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 8
    : 03-18-2005, 01:39 AM
  5. What's consider an illegal serve?
    By Sgt_Strider in forum General Forum
    Replies: 6
    : 07-23-2003, 08:18 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •