Results 1 to 12 of 12
11-04-2011, 11:05 AM #1
Which side to start from when playing mixed doubles?
When starting a game of mixed doubles, I always thought that both female partners must start from their respective right hand side box (i.e. the female will always serve to the female). Can anyone clarify the rules on who may start where in mixed doubles?
11-04-2011, 12:23 PM #2
You have it correctly, the females start from the even court (your right to opponents left diagonal).
Quote of the Day
Two wrongs don't make a right, but three lefts do
11-04-2011, 02:34 PM #3
No there are no rules about who shall start in the right side and who will start in the left side.
Actually each pair will decide before each game.
11-04-2011, 03:18 PM #4
In a tournament with referees, you will be asked who is going to serve and who is going to receive. So this more than confirms that the female does not necessarily have to start on the "even" court and the receiver has to be female either.
11-04-2011, 07:30 PM #5
By law, umpire will do the toss to decide which side has the previlege to choose first.What to choose? There are 3 questions asked by umpire (in double, not single) to the side who win the toss: Do you want to serve, receive or choose end.If they choose to serve, umpire will continue and ask who is serving.Then umpire will ask to the opponent, which end they choose and who will receive the serve.Hope that clarify how the match is start
Last edited by Chayady; 11-04-2011 at 07:32 PM.
11-05-2011, 02:24 AM #6
Thank you for your replies. I've never played a game that's been umpire'd (casual player) so this is really helpful insight. Thanks for the clarification. I'm really confused how or where I got this from as females starting from their even side box is what I (and many other casual players) have assumed. I don't suppose the misunderstanding has come about because the rules have now changed and it once used to be like that?
11-05-2011, 02:34 AM #7
11-05-2011, 03:13 AM #8
The female serve first is kinda just out of tradition.
11-08-2011, 05:20 PM #9
Here's another point of view. In mixed it's easier for the serving side to win points on the lady's serve than on the man's serve. So if your side is serving first in a match, you want the lady on the right so that she has the serve. But if your side is receiving, you want the man on the right so that, again, the first serve from your side will be by the lady.
Of course not everyone agrees with this. But I've met people who do play this way.
11-08-2011, 06:46 PM #10
11-10-2011, 08:55 PM #11
this is clarified in law 11.6
11.6 Either player of the winning side may serve first in the next game, and either player of the losing side may receive first in the next game.
Hence the umpire must ask to check who will serve and receive before the start of each game
11-11-2011, 05:32 AM #12
Thanks very much for everyone's replies. This more than clarifies that my previous assumption was wrong.
By jam0202 in forum Canada WestReplies: 0: 05-27-2010, 12:10 AM
By eguitarcoolboy in forum Coaching ForumReplies: 0: 02-20-2010, 08:50 AM
By macazteeg in forum Techniques / TrainingReplies: 30: 04-03-2009, 11:38 PM
By Angelou in forum Badminton Tournament Video SharingReplies: 1: 06-22-2006, 12:07 PM
By ye333 in forum Korea Professional PlayersReplies: 3: 04-17-2006, 07:26 PM