ageing novice needs advice please: restring or new racket?

Discussion in 'Badminton Rackets / Equipment' started by smw3473, Nov 16, 2011.

1. smw3473

smw3473 New Member

I recently started playing again, purely for fun at the moment, after a hiatus of nearly 20 years. Back in the day, apart from having more hair & much faster reactions, I was the envy of my friends with my graphite ceramic Jaguar Osprey Pro racket, which has been duly dusted off & returned to action. Given my current level of play (I was never that good anyway) it seems fine, but I was thinking a restring is probably a few years overdue. However having has a look online it seems there are a multitude of modern rackets available for very reasonable prices, for example a [h=1]Browning NanoTec CTi 85 Badminton Racket RRP £230 with titanium strings[/h]for £25 delivered to my door.
    My question therefore; is it worth me paying £15 to have my 20 year old racket restrung when I could buy a brand new model for only a tenner or so more? Having been out of the game for so long, I have no idea how much better new rackets are, but I'm guessing the technology has evolved somewhat since 1990.
    Any advice would be greatly appreciated...

2. moomoo

moomoo Regular Member

all depends on your budget and how often you think you'll play baddy.

i had my cab21sp for 16 years, then decided to pick up the new voltric 5 before "investing" in the more expensive models.

even the low/medium entry models nowadays are better than my old top of the line 16 year old racket (its graphite!!!).

but you should restring the old racket anyways as backup, i use my Cab21sp as a warmup/training racket as its heavier (2U)

(anyways for 230 squids, you can get the best yonex/li-ning racket already :p)

3. Maklike Tier

Maklike Tier Regular Member

Unoccupied