User Tag List

Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    London
    Posts
    133
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Defining IN or OUT

    So me and a friend were having a debate. I said if part of the shuttle touches the line (even if it's a tiny bit) the shot counts as in.
    He was saying that the majority (over half) of the shuttle has to touch the line for it to count as in.

    So guys, what is the rule on this?

    Cheers

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    coming to a court near you...
    Posts
    28,035
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    As long as the shuttle touches ANY part of the line, it's in.

    But it's so hard to tell with the naked eye if the shuttle has grazed the last millimeter of the line

  3. #3
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    9,173
    Mentioned
    96 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    As long as the *cork* head touches the line, it's in. Whether the shuttle skirt touches the line is irrelevant.

  4. #4
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    9,173
    Mentioned
    96 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hey madbad, you beat me to it! With almost the same answer!

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    coming to a court near you...
    Posts
    28,035
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by visor View Post
    Hey madbad, you beat me to it! With almost the same answer!
    Hehe, SNAP!

  6. #6
    Regular Member craigandy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    1,718
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It's interesting what the others said is correct but when you think about a high clear that is dropping directly down on the back line, due to the cork being round, the point of contact is close to half of the shuttle being on the back of the line but more interestingly if you are above the shuttle you don't have the angle to see if this point has contacted the line it's impossible, again because it is round.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    198
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    This is not a tournament right?

    Just let our opponent win the point. For me, when my opponent call an 'in' even I clearly see it's 'out', I will just let my opponent take the point.. >_<

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    HDB
    Posts
    73
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LightSaber View Post
    This is not a tournament right?

    Just let our opponent win the point. For me, when my opponent call an 'in' even I clearly see it's 'out', I will just let my opponent take the point.. >_<
    agree, no point to argue about that one point (if it is not crucial like 18 onwards :-) )

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    HDB
    Posts
    73
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by craigandy View Post
    It's interesting what the others said is correct but when you think about a high clear that is dropping directly down on the back line, due to the cork being round, the point of contact is close to half of the shuttle being on the back of the line but more interestingly if you are above the shuttle you don't have the angle to see if this point has contacted the line it's impossible, again because it is round.
    that's why in tournament, one line judge is watching only one line with respect to his seating

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    HDB
    Posts
    73
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by visor View Post
    As long as the *cork* head touches the line, it's in. Whether the shuttle skirt touches the line is irrelevant.
    i used to play with one colleague in the office who is somehow petty about this.
    he likes to argue in terms of percentage like 20% touched the line, so it is out.
    i said no it is 21% :-)
    just amazing how he could gauge the percentage with his perspective within such a short time during the landing. to me, he is just petty. normally, i would just let him get the point. no use to argue for such petty thing :-)

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    862
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by visor View Post
    As long as the *cork* head touches the line, it's in. Whether the shuttle skirt touches the line is irrelevant.
    Does it matter with the timing? E.g. if the skirt hits/touches the floor visibly outside the line first, then the cork touches the line?

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    NorCal, United States
    Posts
    861
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by raymond View Post
    Does it matter with the timing? E.g. if the skirt hits/touches the floor visibly outside the line first, then the cork touches the line?
    People say the cork because it's almost physic-ally impossible for the feathers to hit 1st, but if it does somehow happen and it touches the ground 1st on the line, it's still in.

    Here, I found this on our USAB Umpire forums, pretend the tennis ball is a shuttle and see how well you guys do with this test. On some shots, it BARELY grazes the line, but it's still considered in. See if your naked eye can catch it.

    The number after the IN or OUT word tells you how far IN or OUT it was. The smaller the #, the closer to it being to the line or on the line. IN 0 is the hardest because that means it barely grazes the line.

    http://www.lifesci.sussex.ac.uk/home...ennisCall.html
    Last edited by CantSmashThis; 11-19-2011 at 01:42 PM.

  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    TW, SG, HK
    Posts
    7,313
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    As a line judge, that has done some international tournaments, we were taught that if any part of the shuttle touches the line on impact with the ground, then it is in. If it's ever so slightly out (and you're 100% sure (even if you are not)) then you should shout "OUT" as loud as you can, the closer the call the louder you shout.

    When playing socially though, if the shuttle is slightly out., I will probably just give the shuttle to my opponent, cause I can't be bothered arguing, or I will put my racket on the line, to show that the shuttle had to go wide of the line as it went past my racket unless it's a tournament of course where everything matters...

  14. #14
    Regular Member craigandy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    1,718
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CantSmashThis View Post

    Brilliant! did 25 got 25. I have definately got a few people i want to test with this to see if it is relative to there dodgy line calls they make during real badders match.

Similar Threads

  1. Defining "quality" in shot making
    By Cheung in forum Coaching Forum
    Replies: 8
    : 03-09-2005, 04:05 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •