Results 1 to 14 of 14
Thread: Defining IN or OUT
11-18-2011, 02:49 PM #1
Defining IN or OUT
So me and a friend were having a debate. I said if part of the shuttle touches the line (even if it's a tiny bit) the shot counts as in.
He was saying that the majority (over half) of the shuttle has to touch the line for it to count as in.
So guys, what is the rule on this?
11-18-2011, 03:09 PM #2
As long as the shuttle touches ANY part of the line, it's in.
But it's so hard to tell with the naked eye if the shuttle has grazed the last millimeter of the line
11-18-2011, 03:12 PM #3
As long as the *cork* head touches the line, it's in. Whether the shuttle skirt touches the line is irrelevant.
11-18-2011, 03:13 PM #4
Hey madbad, you beat me to it! With almost the same answer!
11-18-2011, 03:14 PM #5
11-19-2011, 06:56 AM #6
It's interesting what the others said is correct but when you think about a high clear that is dropping directly down on the back line, due to the cork being round, the point of contact is close to half of the shuttle being on the back of the line but more interestingly if you are above the shuttle you don't have the angle to see if this point has contacted the line it's impossible, again because it is round.
11-19-2011, 08:36 AM #7
This is not a tournament right?
Just let our opponent win the point. For me, when my opponent call an 'in' even I clearly see it's 'out', I will just let my opponent take the point.. >_<
11-19-2011, 09:15 AM #8
11-19-2011, 09:16 AM #9
11-19-2011, 09:20 AM #10
he likes to argue in terms of percentage like 20% touched the line, so it is out.
i said no it is 21% :-)
just amazing how he could gauge the percentage with his perspective within such a short time during the landing. to me, he is just petty. normally, i would just let him get the point. no use to argue for such petty thing :-)
11-19-2011, 11:05 AM #11
11-19-2011, 01:39 PM #12
Here, I found this on our USAB Umpire forums, pretend the tennis ball is a shuttle and see how well you guys do with this test. On some shots, it BARELY grazes the line, but it's still considered in. See if your naked eye can catch it.
The number after the IN or OUT word tells you how far IN or OUT it was. The smaller the #, the closer to it being to the line or on the line. IN 0 is the hardest because that means it barely grazes the line.
Last edited by CantSmashThis; 11-19-2011 at 01:42 PM.
11-19-2011, 02:56 PM #13
As a line judge, that has done some international tournaments, we were taught that if any part of the shuttle touches the line on impact with the ground, then it is in. If it's ever so slightly out (and you're 100% sure (even if you are not)) then you should shout "OUT" as loud as you can, the closer the call the louder you shout.
When playing socially though, if the shuttle is slightly out., I will probably just give the shuttle to my opponent, cause I can't be bothered arguing, or I will put my racket on the line, to show that the shuttle had to go wide of the line as it went past my racket unless it's a tournament of course where everything matters...
11-19-2011, 04:14 PM #14
By Cheung in forum Coaching ForumReplies: 8: 03-09-2005, 04:05 PM