User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Brooklyn, New York
    Posts
    21
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default When serving, can you stand on the middle line without going out of the border?

    Are you allowed to do that? My opponent called me off on that, and I argued with him that it is allowed. The reason being is that I watched a Lin Dan match once where he constantly stands on the middle white line while serving. He's still the right side, of course, but a part of his foot is on top of the service center white line without a part of his shoe going out of the 1.5 inch border line. The commentator, Gillian Clark, even mentions it, and that's why it stuck on my mind ever since. I just can't remember what match it is though.

  2. #2
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    9,215
    Mentioned
    97 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Your foot or shoe cannot physically touch the line at all.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Brooklyn, New York
    Posts
    21
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Are you 100% sure, 'cause Lin Dan did it a lot in one of his matches (I can't remember what match). The commentator even mentioned it, and she didn't say it was not allowed. She just said it's interesting that LD stands on top of the white line. And the umpire did not call him at fault. I hope I can see that match again so I can post it.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    TW, SG, HK
    Posts
    7,313
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Umpire obviously didnt see it then...

  5. #5
    Regular Member Andy05's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Stockton-on-Tees, UK
    Posts
    476
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If as her serves he moves his bodyweight forwards and his foot crosses the line after contact with the shuttle then that is ok. As long as his foot maintains contact with the floor it should be ok.
    But you can't be in contact with the line when the shuttle is struck.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Brooklyn, New York
    Posts
    21
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Lin Dan's foot was physically touching the line before making contact with the shuttle. The commentator would have said it's not allowed if she mentioned it, don't you guys think so? To you guys that say it's not allowed, where in the rulebook does it say that? I still think it's okay for your feet/shoe to touch the inside of the white line as long as no part of your feet/shoe is actually touching the other green side.

  7. #7
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    9,215
    Mentioned
    97 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    9.1.2 the server and the receiver shall stand within diagonally opposite service courts (Diagram A) without touching the boundary lines of these service courts;

    Nothing ambiguous about it.

    Now would it have been that hard to look it up yourself?
    Last edited by visor; 12-07-2011 at 06:14 PM.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Brooklyn, New York
    Posts
    21
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Well that sux = ( For some sort of reason I really like stepping on that center line = ) But thanks for the info = )

  9. #9
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    9,215
    Mentioned
    97 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Haha! No problem. Here, read all the rules here: http://www.worldbadminton.com/rules/

  10. #10
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Outside the box
    Posts
    13,189
    Mentioned
    33 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LD rules! View Post
    Umpire obviously didnt see it then...
    The umpire is looking at the receiver - he calls 'fault receiver'.

    It's the service judge who calls a fault for the service but obviously, that is not the best position to look at the line.

Similar Threads

  1. Why do professionals stand so close to the service line?
    By Jason123 in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 9
    : 03-16-2012, 06:59 PM
  2. the shuttle is right in the middle, what to do?
    By pcll99 in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 19
    : 01-23-2012, 08:29 AM
  3. Shuttle falling on the line while serving
    By Rajeshgsb in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 14
    : 12-10-2010, 05:01 AM
  4. The need to go to the loo in the middle of a tourney
    By Monster in forum General Forum
    Replies: 3
    : 04-27-2009, 07:48 PM
  5. where do you stand when opponent serving to you (doubles) ??
    By RevoWithin in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 11
    : 07-08-2006, 01:20 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •