User Tag List

Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    326
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default throwing racquet to recover shot - legal?

    not sure if this has been discussed (tried to do a search but no results).

    if a player throws his/her racquet to recover a shot and the racquet makes contact with the shuttle while not held by the hand and the player wins the point, is that legal?

  2. #2
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    8,614
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    84 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    i don't think it's a fault or illegal... there's no law against it

    i do that all the time when i'm totally out of position, but i've never once even hit the shuttle, much less get the bird over

  3. #3
    Regular Member demolidor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    @Hollanti
    Posts
    11,569
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Pretty sure I've heard "GC" comment such a shot would've been illegal had it worked (?) ...

  4. #4
    Regular Member Renmazuo27's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    536
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I don't think anyone would want to throw an expensive racquet around anyway..

  5. #5
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    8,614
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    84 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Renmazuo27 View Post
    I don't think anyone would want to throw an expensive racquet around anyway..
    we play on pvc mats, so it doesn't hurt the racket one bit

  6. #6
    Regular Member Renmazuo27's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    536
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Lucky you man. We've got the wooden multipurpose flooring so our knees and ankles take a pounding (my ankle certainly did).

    For a laugh though, I'd like to see a VT80 LTD being flung across the court in desperation...

  7. #7
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    8,614
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    84 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Renmazuo27 View Post
    Lucky you man. We've got the wooden multipurpose flooring so our knees and ankles take a pounding (my ankle certainly did).

    For a laugh though, I'd like to see a VT80 LTD being flung across the court in desperation...
    its only a vt80, but you could see joachim fischer do exactly that at the 2011 french open xd final against ma/xu

  8. #8
    Regular Member Mark A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    St Helens, UK
    Posts
    3,755
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Jimmy Connors did this at least once:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fHk3KEGF5mI

    (and the point stood).

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,772
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I've seen it work once in a recreational game.
    A fellow returned a net shot and was unprepared for the crosscourt net return. It wasn't far, he just couldn't turn and get his feet going fast enough. So he tossed his racket gently, parallel to the net, and the bird hit the strings and had just enough oomph to crawl over the tape and drop to the other side.

    Not a tomahawk throw across the full length of the court like visor is wont to do . But it was quite amusing to all involved. The point was let to stand in that social situation. And I'd bet it wouldn't be faulted in competition either. Where is one of our venerable officials to give a ruling?

  10. #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    4
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    In tennis, the racquet must remain in contact with the player for the shot to count. So if the player throws the racquet at manages to get the ball over, it still will not count.

    If that Jimmy Connors shot counted then the umpire screwed up.

  11. #11
    Regular Member Andy05's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Stockton-on-Tees, UK
    Posts
    476
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I think it's legal, but the act of throwing the racket endangers the players and can be classed as illegal for that reason. Might be ok if you do it cross court, but towards the net I think would be illegal.
    Have you done it yourself or did somebody do it to you?

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    816
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    its ok

    not illegal if i am not wrong

  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Island
    Posts
    305
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It's good for professional championship game but for social game no. Why risk your racquet specially if it's a classic racquet? OF course, most everyone knows it is perfectly legal.

  14. #14
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    95
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The problem is what are the chances of you retrieving the next shot if you really got it over.

  15. #15
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Outside the box
    Posts
    12,527
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ken E-Wong View Post
    In tennis, the racquet must remain in contact with the player for the shot to count. So if the player throws the racquet at manages to get the ball over, it still will not count.

    If that Jimmy Connors shot counted then the umpire screwed up.
    Depends if the rule existed when Jimmy Conners played that shot. If not, then umpire didn't screw up.

  16. #16
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Island
    Posts
    305
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Resistor View Post
    The problem is what are the chances of you retrieving the next shot if you really got it over.
    One only decides to throw themselves with the racquet as an extension of their arm if they are pretty sure they can make an irrecoverable save.

  17. #17
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    san francisco
    Posts
    114
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I play social games only. (not tournaments)
    and I've seen this done many times and it's never worked. hasn't ever touched the birdie. i've seen vt80's... armortec 600's... thrown. i'd rather lose the point...

Similar Threads

  1. Is this shot legal?
    By zqcebtmu in forum General Forum
    Replies: 14
    : 04-17-2009, 11:12 PM
  2. Is the hook net drop shot legal?
    By RobbieV in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 38
    : 03-04-2007, 07:48 PM
  3. Racquet Frame Design = Most Stable Shot
    By LouisW in forum Badminton Rackets / Equipment
    Replies: 10
    : 10-07-2005, 12:21 AM
  4. Double hit/drag shot/shuttle sliding along racquet
    By Dave18 in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 32
    : 03-17-2005, 05:27 PM
  5. Unlikely shot: is this legal?
    By bigredlemon in forum General Forum
    Replies: 8
    : 01-14-2003, 09:01 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •