User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 17 of 24
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    132
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Moving Before the Serve

    okay, i am having a problem, is it illegal for the opponent to move/jump forward before you serve? I was playing a neighbouring school today in doubles and right before i served, the opponent would kind of jump RIGHT before i hit it and smash it right down at me before i could think of making a flick. Is this illegal?

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Toronto/Waterloo/Ottawa
    Posts
    37
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It's illegal to have any portion of either foot come off the ground after the servers racket head moves forward and before the racket strikes the shuttle.
    Be careful tho, I know some people kind of coil down as I start my swing, but they never leave the ground. This gives them a very good jump after I make contact with the shuttle and it seems like they are moving *too* fast.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Bedford, UK
    Posts
    191
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Ah right. That sets me straight because I was slightly unsure of this. So it IS legal to move, as long as the movement is not your feet leaving the ground.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    728
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Plus your feet must be stationary, ie/ you cannot shuffle your feet on the ground


    Cheers!

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    TW
    Posts
    3,949
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Ah, two feet on the ground?
    I have to tell my friends about it....since I know someone often have one foot in the air while doing the serve.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    964
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yes it is illegal and bad sportmanship. I once conceded a match game at 16-16 when the opponents were serving because I moved just slightly too quick and killed the shuttle. Even though they were prepared to let it go I think it is really bad sportsmanship.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    44
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Bringing this post back from the dead... but...

    I was reading the rules, how the service begins, when the servers starts moving his racket. Does this mean that the receiver can move as soon as the service is started?

    I was cautioned a few times when moving forward "too early", but I'm sure I only start moving when the server starts moving his racket... Is this ok?

  8. #8
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    9,217
    Mentioned
    97 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    You cannot move your feet until the server's racket hits the bird.

    That is the main gist of it.

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    122
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bodminton View Post
    I was reading the rules, how the service begins, when the servers starts moving his racket. Does this mean that the receiver can move as soon as the service is started?
    No, the service starts on the first forward motion of the server's racket, but the receiver may only move when the shuttle has been delivered:

    9.1.3 some part of both feet of the server and the receiver shall remain in contact with the surface of the court in a stationary position from the start of the service (Law 9.2) until the service is delivered (Law 9.3);
    9.2 Once the players are ready for the service, the first forward movement of the server’s racket head shall be the start of the service.
    9.3 Once started (Law 9.2), the service is delivered when the shuttle is hit by the server’s racket or, in attempting to serve, the server misses the shuttle.

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    manila
    Posts
    1,117
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    bump bump. :-)
    For quite some time now, I have been telling my playmate that it's illegal to remove some part of the feet off the ground if the shuttle hasn't been struck; however, as I have always been observing his receiving tactics, I guess he never listened.

    Thus, last Saturday, while playing with him as his opponent (this is MD), I had to do something about it. The first time he violated the rule, I let it go, although I made a nonchalant remark that it was illegal. But during his second violation (he was the receiver, my partner was the server), I deliberately did not hit the shuttle - although I knew I could - but instead just caught it and informed him during play of his violation. I asked for a let and they respectully obliged. My question is, "After what I did, did I appear arrogant?"

  11. #11
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    9,217
    Mentioned
    97 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    ^^ those players are the funnest to outmaneuver

    all you as a server has to do is to pretend to go thru your short serve preparation, but secretly keep an eye for any preemptive movement from him, then you delay your contact point just a tad as you serve and the instant you sense him move, you flick serve it

    do that a few times and he'll never preempt you again

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    manila
    Posts
    1,117
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    hi visor. thanks for the input. however, i wasn't the server. it was my partner. i was standing at the back.

  13. #13
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    9,217
    Mentioned
    97 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    in any case, when it's your turn to serve, you can try it on him

  14. #14
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    manila
    Posts
    1,117
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    yes, i agree with what you said. these kinds of receivers are easy to flick serve with :-)

  15. #15
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    44
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Ok, I have a question regarding this flick serve. Is it ok to swing your arm, then not hit the birdy for half a second or so, then flick the serve?

  16. #16
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    9,217
    Mentioned
    97 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    As long as none of the laws are broken (ie. one smooth movement, struck below waist, racket aimed down), there is nothing against it.

  17. #17
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London area, UK
    Posts
    3,879
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by edward View Post
    It's illegal to have any portion of either foot come off the ground after the servers racket head moves forward and before the racket strikes the shuttle.
    Not quite. Here's what the rule actually says:

    9.1.3 some part of both feet of the server and the receiver shall remain in contact with the surface of the court in a stationary position from the start of the service (Law 9.2) until the service is delivered (Law 9.3);
    This means you can, for example, bring your heel off the ground while keeping your toes static. You can shift your weight about. But you cannot lift or drag a foot.


    Quote Originally Posted by visor View Post
    As long as none of the laws are broken (ie. one smooth movement, struck below waist, racket aimed down), there is nothing against it.
    That used to be true, but the laws changed. Now the server is not allowed to pause during the backswing:


    9.1.1 neither side shall cause undue delay to the delivery of the service once the server and the receiver are ready for the service. On completion of the backward movement of server’s racket head, any delay in the start of the service (Law 9.2), shall be considered to be an undue delay;

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Switching from long serve to short serve in singles
    By JustinG in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 9
    : 07-28-2010, 07:32 PM
  2. Backhand Serve or Forehand Serve?
    By pyaarawala in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 69
    : 01-14-2009, 11:09 PM
  3. Is Lee's moving?
    By dex in forum Lee's Badminton Training Centre
    Replies: 16
    : 01-08-2009, 06:47 AM
  4. Moving into HK
    By Zeken in forum China / Hong Kong
    Replies: 6
    : 10-23-2006, 09:36 AM
  5. Moving out!
    By Chesire Cat in forum Chit-Chat
    Replies: 4
    : 09-12-2005, 10:11 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •