Heavy head rackets or Light head Rackets ( Smashing )

Discussion in 'Badminton Rackets / Equipment' started by Jason123, Mar 9, 2012.

1. Jason123

Jason123 Regular Member

I know many people would say that heavy head rackets are the best for smashing as it creates more momentum.

However because I am a beginner, will I benefit more from a light head racket?

Heres my reasoning:

I've been playing for around 6 months. So you could say my wrists are fairly weak. Because of this will be easier for me to maneuver/flick a light headed racket then a heavy headed one and create more power from it, rather then sometimes struggle with a heavy headed racket.

Other info

I'd say Im pretty decent, I can now play against people that have been playing for 2 - 4 years.

I play 6-8 hours a week, I play doubles and I'm neither a back court or a net player I like to go with the flow when playing.

I can make a nice *swooshing* sound when I Smash
    :D

Any advice or help would be greatly appreciated

This is the racket that I use:
    http://www.badmintonalley.com/Yonex...2008_Racket_p/racket-yonex-at250-ltd-2008.htm

2. a|extan

a|extan Regular Member

u r using a head heavy racket..as in armortec

depends what u like..

generally for doubles... head light racket such as nanospeed series r more popular to some..

ultimately... u decide what u want..

3. Trilitai

Trilitai Regular Member

I'm almost have the same situation as you. Recently I just joined back badminton (stopped 5 years) and my wrist has been weak. I have been using my friend head heavy racket and find it's not so good for double. I'm slow and my hand get tired fairly quickly. So just few days ago I went online and bought a new yonex nanoray racket. It is a head light racket. I will see if the new racket will improve me.