strange noises are coming from my racket

Discussion in 'Badminton String' started by diverdan, Mar 9, 2012.

1. diverdan

diverdan Regular Member

graduate
    I've been playing for a few years know but this is something completely new to me. A couple of nights ago i was playing in a match and went gore a smash. I connected fairly well but the sound I got was like a string breaking. I checked my strings and they were intact. I checked my racket gore cracks and that was fine. My question is this. I use an arc8dx with bg66um at 28lbs. Do you think the noise is produced when the strings are losing their tension or is it something else? It has done it a couple of times and I would have thought if the racket is cracked it would have imploded by now.

2. faiyazk

faiyazk Regular Member

its probably just a string moving within the grid perhaps. sometimes even if i middle the shuttle i dont always get a clean sound...maybe my racket face was angled or a string slid a bit out of place.

3. diverdan

diverdan Regular Member

graduate
    All strings look in place. It was a weird sound though. Almost like the racket cracked but I've checked it over and it looks fine. How do you check if a racket has cracked?

4. wlachan

wlachan Regular Member

Could be the cone is coming loose but not quite detached. Happened to both of my less than a year old AT600 & Cab35. If that's the case, you can rest the racket for awhile, then flick it quickly near your ear. It will produce a cracking sound once or twice then gone. This will get more frequent and eventually to a point the cone might either totally detached or the wood underneath would crack due to the lack of cone support.