User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 17 of 25
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    HK
    Posts
    4,263
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default can an umpire call a let?

    i know if an umpire is convinced beyond reasonable doubt that a line judge got it wrong, he can overrule the line judge. But what if he thinks it is very close (ie, maybe it's in or maybe it's out), can he call a let?

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    647
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I don't think so. Maybe if the line judge's vision was blocked and so was the umpire's but not if the line judge made a call.

  3. #3
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    36,155
    Mentioned
    55 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    if the umpire clearly thinks the linejudge is wrong, then he will overrule it.
    if the umpire clearly thinks the linejudge is correct, then he won't need to say a thing.

    so what circumstances would the umpire turn it into a let? maybe when the umpire thinks the linejudge is an idiot and not competent or not in the right state to make a call? maybe the linejudge fell over or fall asleep?

    hm...

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    816
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    i have not seen a let b4 in badminton competition.....
    any video to show one?

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    HK
    Posts
    4,263
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    what about a line judge? can he himself call a let if he is not sure?

  6. #6
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    36,155
    Mentioned
    55 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pcll99 View Post
    what about a line judge? can he himself call a let if he is not sure?
    yes. linejudges can call unsighted. the gesture is covering ones eyes.

    example situations includes..

    - view of shuttle blocked by player
    - momentarily fell asleep
    - too engrossed in watching the rally and forgotten about having to call a line
    - etc.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    816
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    such unsight r rare..

    likely the empire will have to come in to make the final calls

    badminton is still not like tennis... when one player can make a limited no of challenger or video review

    this can oso let the players catch their breath...a little little while

    i am supportive of this

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    London
    Posts
    133
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    That's why being the line judge down the middle would be the best; concentrate on the service then after that, you can just enjoy the game

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    @Home
    Posts
    58
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    No the line judge can't call a let, he can "call" an unsightet as Kwun writes, but if he does that the umpire will make a decision, often the decision is to call a let, but he has all three possiblitys.

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    NorCal, United States
    Posts
    937
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Calling a let on a close line call would show that you are not trusting enough of your line judge to agree with their judgement. And in your case, lots of lets will be played on close line shots then.

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    @Home
    Posts
    58
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    No the umpire will only call it if the line judge calls an unsightet (as I wrote) there isn't that many, but those that are there is more likely to be on close calls, so as an umpire it can be very hard to make a call on a close one on the far side of the court.
    It has nothing to do with not trusting your line judge, he/she has allready told you that they have no clue if it was in or out
    As I wrote the umpire has all 3 possibilitys so if it is happening just under your chair there is nothing wrong in calling it as you see it.

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    TW, SG, HK
    Posts
    7,314
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    In International Challenge tournaments from what I've seen, the umpire will only over rule a line call of it is blatantly wrong. If it is slightly wrong (still slightly noticible though) then it will stand, cause once the umpire overules that line, then any shuttle that goes near it, most players at that level, will infact try and influence the line judge and umpire.

    Would not call a let though, only an overule if there is a clear mistake.

  13. #13
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    10,262
    Mentioned
    139 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Sure. A let is called by the umpire when the receiver indicates he's not ready when the server serves... many times a match when Ko SungHyun is serving.

  14. #14
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    @Home
    Posts
    58
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Well the thing is that the line judge haven't made a real call, he/she have made an unsightet call telling you that they can't make a call, therefor you as umpire have to make the call for them, so you are not overruleing anything, they haven't made a call for you to overule, if they made a real call (in/out) the umpire can only accept it or overrule it if it is a clearly wrong call.

  15. #15
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    10,262
    Mentioned
    139 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by krysser View Post
    Well the thing is that the line judge haven't made a real call, he/she have made an unsightet call telling you that they can't make a call, therefor you as umpire have to make the call for them, so you are not overruleing anything, they haven't made a call for you to overule, if they made a real call (in/out) the umpire can only accept it or overrule it if it is a clearly wrong call.
    Instant video replay is already broadcasted, if BWF uses that to assist, the umpire's job would be so much easier.

  16. #16
    Regular Member johnv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    54
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I guess umpires try to avoid calling lets to keep the game going smoothly. Calling a let introduces uncertainty into the situation and one side will still feel put out that their shot wasn't called good. It encourages subsequent close calls to also be questioned and interruptions may start to creep in.

    Players know sometimes calls go against their own judgements, but they have to get over it and not let that distract from their game. Umpiring consistency should be a matter for the organisers not the players.

  17. #17
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    HK
    Posts
    4,263
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kwun View Post
    yes. linejudges can call unsighted. the gesture is covering ones eyes.

    example situations includes..

    - view of shuttle blocked by player
    - momentarily fell asleep
    - too engrossed in watching the rally and forgotten about having to call a line
    - etc.
    But what if after having saw it (ie, he wasn't blocked), he's not sure.. what then?

    "The birdie was too fast, I couldn't say".... "It was 3 meters away, i couldn't see it well"... "It was simply too close to call."

    At least one of the above happens in almost every single match.
    Last edited by pcll99; 03-14-2012 at 03:20 AM.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Can an umpire call service fault?
    By Andrew in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 5
    : 09-07-2012, 11:40 PM
  2. what is the umpire playing at?
    By amleto in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 22
    : 06-10-2011, 07:37 PM
  3. Was the umpire fair?
    By limsy in forum Olympics BEIJING 2008
    Replies: 76
    : 08-14-2008, 12:40 AM
  4. how to become umpire
    By badylife in forum General Forum
    Replies: 2
    : 04-11-2008, 08:14 AM
  5. Can an umpire do this?
    By jas1121 in forum General Forum
    Replies: 9
    : 11-27-2006, 11:01 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •