User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 17 of 30
  1. #1
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    35,915
    Mentioned
    52 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default help, my WISE died.

    Need some advice from the forum members.

    couple days ago my WISE stopped working. here are the symptoms:

    - powers on
    - the WISE goes into starting sequence, but the tension head doesn't move. if i try to help it along by hand, it'd go maybe half way and then go back.
    - then it shows an error, usually 5, but sometimes 3.

    before this happens, it was acting up a little already, sometimes the tensioner won't start.

    i sent a email to wise and they haven't responded. either they are slow or they are off due to holidays.

    what are my choices?

    1. open it up? but i think that will trigger an error because they have some sort of safeguard?
    2. send it back. i am still waiting for the reply. what kind of repair cost should i expect?
    3. buy a new one?
    4. buy new machine all together?
    5. go back to crank

    most of you will say 4. but unfortunately that's gonna cost too much.

    i won't do 3 unless the cost of repair is so much that i might as well get a brand new one.

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,855
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The obvious question is, how much of a hurry are you in?

    Some shop in Northern California should be able to repair a small motor. But over the Christmas holilday?

    Do you still have a the crank? Why not refresh yourself with a little extra Christmas exercise and put that back on? Especially if you have rackets that need stringing quickly.

    Sorry for your loss. But surely those smiling little faces in your house at Christmas time will take the edge of your existential pain.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    895
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I'd say 5 until they respond back to you. My guess is that they'll repair it and that it won't cost you too much. Their customer service has always been quite excellent (during Herb days anyway).

    Or 6. Go string at a friend's shop until it is repaired.

    I'd only open it up as a last resort before buying a new one, because at that point, you have nothing to lose.

  4. #4
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    35,915
    Mentioned
    52 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    i still have the crank. that might be the option before the other options becomes available.

    in fact, now that i think about it. i have never used the crank before. i got the machine, and the first thing i did was to put on the WISE.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Newark, CA
    Posts
    417
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Can always come by and chill with the AK. I was thinking of a backup machine, if Yonex gets 2 ES5 Protech in Feb, I get one, if 1 comes then me outta luck, Nusem gonna get. Go with Ghost, been using it for tennis and it feels like an awesome machine!!
    Quote Originally Posted by kwun View Post
    i still have the crank. that might be the option before the other options becomes available.

    in fact, now that i think about it. i have never used the crank before. i got the machine, and the first thing i did was to put on the WISE.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    18
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    just out of curiosity, after how many string jobs was this?

  7. #7
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    35,915
    Mentioned
    52 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by anthony.nguyen View Post
    just out of curiosity, after how many string jobs was this?
    504 stringjobs.

  8. #8
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    35,915
    Mentioned
    52 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kakinami View Post
    Can always come by and chill with the AK. I was thinking of a backup machine, if Yonex gets 2 ES5 Protech in Feb, I get one, if 1 comes then me outta luck, Nusem gonna get. Go with Ghost, been using it for tennis and it feels like an awesome machine!!
    really? you do string for a living, but isn't the ES5 designed with multiple redundancy and never supposed to have down time?

    will certainly come over and hangout some time.

    Nusem is rich dude!

    for me, i need CFO approval.

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Newark, CA
    Posts
    417
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    AK is known for same day stringing. If on a customers racket that ts not there, having a 2nd machine helps keep up AK's rep for same day stringing =)

    Quote Originally Posted by kwun View Post
    really? you do string for a living, but isn't the ES5 designed with multiple redundancy and never supposed to have down time?

    will certainly come over and hangout some time.

    Nusem is rich dude!

    for me, i need CFO approval.

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Wink Alpha ghost

    Quote Originally Posted by kwun View Post
    really? you do string for a living, but isn't the ES5 designed with multiple redundancy and never supposed to have down time?

    will certainly come over and hangout some time.

    Nusem is rich dude!

    for me, i need CFO approval.
    I'm about to bust down on an Alpha Ghost. Tell the CFO it's the holiday season and we all need some lovin'!! We can get a group buy going. =)

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,646
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Sound like a sensor issue. I would wait for WISE to contact you and send it back. Depend on the cost to repair. in the mean time, use the crank machine.

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Mumbai, India
    Posts
    70
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I would have opened the machine by now.
    I think it must be a sensor problem or just dusty.
    The least is that the warranty will be void & the repairs will cost you, But anyways it is cheaper than new machine.

    & if machine started working "Merry Christmas"

  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    289
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Kwun: use the crank. the Gamma crank is very precise and probably the best crank tension head out there. You'll have no problems adapting. Make sure you calibrate it first. I have two machines, one with the Wise and one with the crank. The crank one does just as good as a job as the one with the Wise.

  14. #14
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    35,915
    Mentioned
    52 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AZbadman View Post
    Kwun: use the crank. the Gamma crank is very precise and probably the best crank tension head out there. You'll have no problems adapting. Make sure you calibrate it first. I have two machines, one with the Wise and one with the crank. The crank one does just as good as a job as the one with the Wise.
    yes. i have been using the crank. it does take calibration as going by the original calibration it is 4lbs too high. i have done a couple of rackets with it now. for sure it was slower, but i am starting to adapt to the new flow.

  15. #15
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    35,915
    Mentioned
    52 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by aqua26 View Post
    I would have opened the machine by now.
    I think it must be a sensor problem or just dusty.
    The least is that the warranty will be void & the repairs will cost you, But anyways it is cheaper than new machine.

    & if machine started working "Merry Christmas"
    that's what i would normally do, except that the WISE has sensor protection built it, it throw an error code after it is opened.

    kinda annoying, actually.

  16. #16
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    211
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    That error code after it opened is easy to by pass.
    It happen to me when I drop a small gripper into the machine, also I curious enough to see inside how it work with the cover open, them the error code show up after I turn it on without the cover. I used all my electronic knowledge to see where is the sensor to detect the opening, I can't find it. I was thinking they must use some high tech secret, now I have to send the machine to service, when I try to close the cover, the head just do not let the cover closed perfectly. Then I discover the head is out of the normal position, that is how the error code generated.
    To fix that, Before to close the machine, just let the head stay in the meddle (do not let it return to the beginning position).

  17. #17
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Taiwan
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kwun View Post
    that's what i would normally do, except that the WISE has sensor protection built it, it throw an error code after it is opened.
    No, there is no sensor protection built. I have just repaired a 2086 with error code 3 for my friend.
    The code 3 error means the self test process is incomplete. The situation of my friend's 2086 is there are dusty in the groove of the screw bar that makes the movement of the tension head not smooth enough, as it cannot finish the test process within a given time, error 3 occurs. I opened the 2086, remove 6 screws of the frame that hold the stepping motor, the screw bar and the tension head, then 3 screws at the back end of the frame, the screw bar is then can easily be removed. Cleaning the screw bar with kerosene until it can go into and out of the tension head smoothly. Finally reassemble all parts together and the 2086 is back to work.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •