First Time Restring

Discussion in 'Badminton String' started by dffhkhksg, Apr 10, 2012.

1. dffhkhksg

dffhkhksg Regular Member

Well, I guess it's about time for me to restring my Muscle Power 5.

I've had it for about a year now, and have yet to restring the stock strings (no idea what they are, came with the racket). Now I have a few questions, as this is my first time restringing a racket.

1. What do you suggest for strings, and what tension for a mediocre player that plays mostly offensive. I'd also prefer they last for as long as possible without having to restring again. I've seen the BG80 and the BG65 come up a lot.

2. I live in Pickering, Ontario. Where is a good place where I can have my racket restrung?  I would prefer closer than a 15 minute drive.

3. After playing with my racket for a while, I've found that the head has become a bit "bent". One side of the racket is normally rounded, whereas the other side is sort of "isometric".Will this impact the quality of the string job and is there any way i can fix it?

2. kwun

kwun Administrator

BC Janitor
    1. BG80 @ 23lbs
    2. dunno
    3. it will bounce back to the original shape once the old string is cut. don't worry about it.

3. zombie0517

zombie0517 Regular Member

What kind of shuttle to you play with? BG80 doesn't like plastic/nylon birdies too much.

Kwun, Muscle Power 5 is a racquet with steel shaft and aluminum frame, I guess the deformation of head shape will be more permanent...

4. Fidget

Fidget Regular Member

I'd suggest that 23lb might be something to think about before ordering.
    The stock strings on your racket might be at about 18lb or less by now. A jump to 23 would take some getting used to. You could certainly adjust to that tension. But there is no shame in trying 21 or 22lb and seeing how that feels. It might also be safer for your mis-shapen racket. Your choice, of course.:)