Help formulating a stratergy

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by HDoan, Apr 23, 2012.

1. HDoan

HDoan Regular Member

Student
    Hi there, I need some help with mixed doubles. Now I am fairly new to mixed doubles and right now I am forced to play mixed doubles for my school. Now our system works out as you go to "divisionals" and play the 8 teams in your division. The top 4 move onto Cities where you play the same teams (1V4, 2V3).

Anyways I scored Second in divisionals only losing to the third place team. So at cities, I play the team that I lost against. My partner has only started to play badminton 2 weeks ago, and has only had 4 actual practices. We never played before so at divisionals, I just stuck her as close to the net as I could and pretty much played a Two versus one against the other teams.

But I need help against this one team, the guy on their team is fairly weak, below average if you ask me. However he favors the back, which is somewhat a good thing. However, the girl in the pair is well trained. It's obvious that she plays on a regular basis. The way they beat us was that she abused my partner with pure drops, and when I would come up to help, she would send it to the back for me.

I've thought about this a lot and I can't seem to think of a way to beat them. Whenever I flick a serve on her, she always drops it and runs to the front, I noticed she is not fairly comfortable in the back and she always makes running front her priority even though she is much stronger than the male.