User Tag List

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Points from faults

    This is quoted from Wikipedia

    A fault is called when the shuttlecock touches the ceiling, net, goes under the net, a player catches or touches the shuttle cock with anything other than the front face of the net, or if the shuttlecock goes outside the boundaries of either side of the court. The serving team loses the serving right and it is passed onto the opponent. No points are awarded to any team.

    So if I served and it hits the net, would my opponent get the point and serve or just the serve?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    647
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Oh wow this seems like the rules 30 years ago. If the shuttle hits the net it does not mean anything.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,941
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    This is an example of how wikipedia is not a completely trustworthy source for badminton rules or anything else.
    Never trust it implicitly for information for your term papers; for answers to your medical problems; and never-ever as your sole instruction in preparing fugu. (trust youtube instead! -looks easy enough)

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    406
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alex G View Post
    So if I served and it hits the net, would my opponent get the point and serve or just the serve?
    If the shuttle touches the top of the net and goes over, then you keep playing as if nothing happened. If it touches the net and doesn't go over then it's a fault: your opponent gets the point and the serve.

    A bit of googling will soon take you to the official rules of badminton on the BWF web site, where you can read the correct version of the rules.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    NorCal, United States
    Posts
    910
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    http://bwfbadminton.org/page.aspx?id=14914 Those are the basic scoring system rules.


    As for your question, if you served and it hits the net and still lands within the service boundary line, it still counts. If you hit the net and it stays there or rolls over and falls short of the service boundary line, it is now your opponent's serve and the score is 1-0.

Similar Threads

  1. Pros/Cons of 15 Points and 21 points
    By FemaleJock in forum General Forum
    Replies: 2
    : 10-05-2009, 06:14 PM
  2. Problem and Faults
    By loweechng in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 7
    : 11-06-2008, 03:28 PM
  3. Badminton Law FAULTs No. 13.3.7 & 13.3.8
    By Temasek Green in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 6
    : 08-04-2007, 01:15 PM
  4. Badminton faults
    By Athletican in forum General Forum
    Replies: 1
    : 04-15-2005, 11:42 AM
  5. why so many faults
    By chenwei in forum General Forum
    Replies: 22
    : 06-13-2003, 07:51 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •