User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Service fault?

  1. #1
    Regular Member StefanDO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Dortmund, Germany
    Posts
    71
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Service fault?

    Hi!

    Sometimes just before I wanted to serve, I accidently touched the shuttle with the back side of the racket head and the shuttle fell on the ground. This may have happened due to a slight backward movement of the racket face (but I did not start moving the racket face forwards). So far I passed the shuttle over to the opponents, automatically admitting a service fault. But was it really a service fault? I never wanted to argue on that as I wasn't sure. On the one hand the racket face touched the shuttle, on the other hand it was the back side of the racket head, and I had not started a forward motion with the racket face. Could I just have picked up the shuttle and served as if nothing had happened?

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,800
    Mentioned
    22 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    since the serve hasn't started, it cannot be a fault if my reading of the rules is correct.
    http://www.worldbadminton.com/rules/#9

  3. #3
    Regular Member StefanDO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Dortmund, Germany
    Posts
    71
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Okay, I only hope in case it happens again, the opponent will accept it if I say that the service hasn't even started... Well, I should really print out the laws of badminton and carry them with me.

  4. #4
    Regular Member diverdan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    England
    Posts
    506
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Download them onto your phone!

  5. #5
    Regular Member extremenanopowe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    SG. Go for NCAP-L2 certified coach.
    Posts
    11,704
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    try not to take the risk by putting it too near. be safe.

  6. #6
    Regular Member diverdan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    England
    Posts
    506
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Its always good to have a disagreement on court. It gets the blood going and may put your opponent off. They should know the rules! If you don't say anything then they will keep doing it.

Similar Threads

  1. Can an umpire call service fault?
    By Andrew in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 5
    : 09-07-2012, 10:40 PM
  2. service fault question
    By sting1988 in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 5
    : 04-11-2010, 02:14 AM
  3. Service fault question
    By space-shuttler in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 7
    : 06-25-2009, 07:51 AM
  4. What fault is it? Receiver fault?
    By pascal123 in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 57
    : 01-13-2009, 12:48 AM
  5. Who is at fault?
    By Dendrobius in forum General Forum
    Replies: 34
    : 06-26-2006, 04:08 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •