User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Nugegoda
    Posts
    141
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Disqualified from Match

    Recently we were playing a tournament and one of my best friends had reached the SF's of this tournament and was the favorite to clinch the title. He won the 1st game of the SF 21-10 but when he was leading 17-14 in the 2nd game he got a serious cramp in his calf muscle.

    He then took a short break of about 5 min and continued playing. Since this was a school tournament the umpire was a student and the tournament had no referee. He lost the second game 23-21. Then in the 3rd he was playing very hard and took a 16-10 lead when he got the cramp again and collapsed to the floor. During this time the teacher-in-charge told him he would be given 2 minutes to recover and he did so. During this time taking permission from the teacher in charge he left the court and changed his trouser. He struggled to win the match taking short breaks between the points but successfully concluded the match winning the 3rd set 21-18. Then after all of this had been completed his opponent in the final who was a friend of the losing player filed a complaint with the head table saying he had unnecessarily wasted time and had left the court without the permission of the umpire.

    At the end the higher authorites had been summoned and my friend was disqualified from the tournament and the match was awarded to the losing SF who won the title. The appeal was not signed by the player who was playing the match with my friend but by other people who wanted him to get disqualified. My friend broke down into tears after the desicion was announced.

    What do you guys think??

  2. #2
    Regular Member arfandy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    China, Thailand, & Indonesia
    Posts
    548
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    the losing party was just being an @ss!

  3. #3
    Regular Member StefanDO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Dortmund, Germany
    Posts
    71
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I doubt this is legal. I think only if the umpire had not allowed him to take a break of some minutes, he could have been disqualified immediately if he had not followed the umpire's instructions. But he was allowed to get a break - and if he had not been allowed, maybe he would have still won the match. One may discuss whether the umpire's decisions were right or wrong, but this shall not change the outcome of a match afterwards, you even see it that way on a professional level, take wrong decisions of umpires in football for example.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Nugegoda
    Posts
    141
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Is the appeal valid because according to the following law it seems not to be legal??
    17.6.8 refer to the Referee all unsatisfied appeals on questions of law only. (Such appeals must be
    made before the next service is delivered or, if at the end of the match, before the side that
    appeals has left the court.)

    Since the appeal was made after both players left the court and the appeal was not signed by the player.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    61
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I think its not fair.. Unless he was warned before hand for taking too long..

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    67
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    This whole procedure is illegal. Mind, this player should indeed have been disqualified, so in the end the right player went to the final. It is however not possible to disqualify a player for something like taking to much time for treatment of an injury or any other reason once that match is over. This player should never have been allowed more than to minutes for treatment when the injury first occurred. Not resuming play immediately after these two minutes have elapsed, already is ground for disqualification and he should certainly have been disqualified when he had to take a second break.
    Yet the way this disqualification was handled now, is totally illegal. The opponent should have made the appeal immediately.He should have appealed during, or directly after the first break and before they resumed play. Only then a legal disqualification could have been achieved.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    67
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Actually, in this particular case, it is not allowed to disqualify after the match has finished. The responsible authority in this case, simply made a wrong decision.

  8. #8
    Regular Member Mark A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    St Helens, UK
    Posts
    3,737
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    a) You can't disqualify somebody after a match,
    b) The yellow and red cards should have been used. A black card is a last resort in cases of simple dissent.

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Cal Central
    Posts
    148
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default DQ - what were rules of competition?

    Quote Originally Posted by Tharitha View Post
    Recently we were playing a tournament and one of my best friends had reached the SF's of this tournament and was the favorite to clinch the title. He won the 1st game of the SF 21-10 but when he was leading 17-14 in the 2nd game he got a serious cramp in his calf muscle.

    He then took a short break of about 5 min and continued playing. Since this was a school tournament the umpire was a student and the tournament had no referee. He lost the second game 23-21. Then in the 3rd he was playing very hard and took a 16-10 lead when he got the cramp again and collapsed to the floor. During this time the teacher-in-charge told him he would be given 2 minutes to recover and he did so. During this time taking permission from the teacher in charge he left the court and changed his trouser. He struggled to win the match taking short breaks between the points but successfully concluded the match winning the 3rd set 21-18. Then after all of this had been completed his opponent in the final who was a friend of the losing player filed a complaint with the head table saying he had unnecessarily wasted time and had left the court without the permission of the umpire.

    At the end the higher authorites had been summoned and my friend was disqualified from the tournament and the match was awarded to the losing SF who won the title. The appeal was not signed by the player who was playing the match with my friend but by other people who wanted him to get disqualified. My friend broke down into tears after the desicion was announced.

    What do you guys think??
    Looks to me that you are similarly troubled by the loss by your friend as the fellow who appealed to the head table! Your friend is fortunate to have a friend like you.

    Will you have the rules of the competition for this tourney? From reading the post, it is most likely that in this school tournament there was substantial deviation from tournament organised under the auspices of the BWF and affiliated organistations.

    There was a protest filed with the tournament-control (the head table), and the decision was made from that place. Most non-sanctioned tourneys, and especially in schools (even some community college ones) work like that.

    Here are some points to consider:

    • Did the rules of competition specify what the procedure during an injury?
    • Did it read anywhere that the tourney was conducted with the following modifications? As in 'BWF laws apply with the following modifications,' or some such wording.
    • Did the rules of competition specify when a appeal / protest could be made?
    • Did the rules specify who is the final authority in case of appeal?

    No matter what others say here or elsewhere, this is immutable history now, and unless the organisers will be incorporating your recommendations for their next one, just an academic exercise.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •