Durability of MP100 vs MP77/99

Discussion in 'Racket Recommendation / Comparison' started by michael_euro1, Sep 14, 2003.

1. michael_euro1

michael_euro1 Regular Member

Hello all, I'm new to BF and i think it's one of the best Badminton sites out...keep it up.

I am about to purchase a new racquet and after trying them out I have narrowed it down to either the Yonex Muscle Power 100 or 77, with the 99 also a possibility.

After hearing all the stories about the MP100 breaking easily (even though my friends has been clashed many times and come out the better racquet). I wanted to know wether the MP77 or MP99 were less fragile than the MP100 . My prefered string/tension is BG65 @ 22lbs.

Thankyou for all replies :)

2. ynexfan2003

ynexfan2003 Regular Member

Part time (unpaid) wine tester
    I'm sorry, but this is an absurd post. Any racquet will break if you put enough stress on it at its weaker points.
    I bought a 2u MP77 which snapped at the head during the first game in which it was used. Yet, I've had an MP100 for some months which has been knocked quite a few times against the floor and has been in some minor clashes and it's holding up fine. I don't doubt that if there were a test carried out on which racquet was able to sustain the most stress, the MP77 would prevail; but if you put your racquet in the sort of situation which would cause it to snap, any light-weight expensive racquet would. If durability is your chief concern, you should try one of the lower range racquets.

3. ronk

ronk Regular Member

22lbs is within the rated range for stringing the 2U MP's and probably 3U Mp's. I doubt you break the racket easily at this tension (unless you are a super hard hitter). The people who break rackets easily have the racket strung at very high tensions (26lbs and above) or are very hard hitters or both hard hitters with high tension rackets.