fingering process

Discussion in 'Thomas Laybourn Forum' started by fappu, Sep 20, 2003.

1. fappu

fappu Regular Member

customer service executive
    hi ,
    i was just mailing JR about his grip and fingering process,what he said was very interesting.I know that there are standard sources for grips etc,but that is so limited,i was a pro in another sport & i know that as a pro u just ,have a few secrets,could u throw some light on ur grip and fingering process?how do u go about getting the correct feel?how is ur gripping process?
    regds./tks.

2. Laybourn

Laybourn Regular Member

Hi Fappu

I must say that i have the same oppinion as Jonas. We all learn the same techniques in Denmark so i think all the top players have almost the same grip. Off couse there is small differences but it is almost the same. An important clue is you must hold the racket very lose in your hand an tighten the grip when you hit the ball. It is very important because you change your grip so many times, and it´s easier to change grip if your hand is a little lose. But as Jonas said you must do what fit you the best. It would be fun to meet you sometime and show you some tricks with jonas.

Thomas

3. fappu

fappu Regular Member

great!thanks!,do u place ur hands flat on the guts and slide down to tighten the fingers and grip? or do u place ur v into the t joint and slide down to tighten the grip? what can one do to get the loose feel while gripping?also what practises do u do to help in this ?which is the main pressure point while u play forehand?would be delighted to hear from u.
    thanks once again,best regards.

4. woop.

woop. Regular Member

My coach told me a good sign I was loosening my grip on the racquet was if it started flying all over the court.

I disagreed. That is just going to cost me a lot in broken racquets ;)

5. cappy75

cappy75 Regular Member

Depot Support Representative