Results 1 to 5 of 5
09-29-2012, 05:22 AM #1
Double Hit not a 'FAULT"anymore??
I had a game with some friends last night. During one of the dbles games, one of my opponents strike a hit which was clearly a double hit. I told them it was a fault as the shuttle had clearly hit the racket twice before onto our court. but one of the guy claimed double hit is no longer a "fault" under the current rules. WTF?!!!!! i asked.
So is it true? can someone pl enlighten me. tks
09-29-2012, 06:04 AM #2
These are the only rules I can find that may explain it. All under chapter 13 in regards to Faults. I quote these directly from here http://www.bwfbadminton.org/file_dow...d=364295&tid=1 and they were last approved at the BWF May 2012 AGM and June 1 2012 Council Meeting
13.3.7 is caught and held on the racket and then slung during the execution of a stroke;
13.3.8 is hit twice in succession by the same player. However, a shuttle hitting the head and the stringed area of the racket in one stroke shall not be a 'fault';
13.3.9 is hit by a player and the player's partner successively; or
13.3.10 touches a player's racket and does not travel towards the opponents' court;
But if you're saying he clearly hit the shuttle with two separate strokes then that guy is definitely giving you crap seeing as he thinks he knows the rules =/
09-29-2012, 06:13 AM #3
I think tat guy is correct!!
What had happened was exactly as mentioned in 13.3.8. the shuttle hit the head and the stringed area of the racket in one stroke.... damn it! I was wrong!!
09-29-2012, 06:22 AM #4
It is a good rule change because many a disagreement arose from people's different perceptions of a double hit. But the 'carry' or 'sling' is still a fault -- a few folks think that rule was eliminated too. (I actually had to convince an opponent that my sling was indeed a fault and thus his point)
Last edited by Fidget; 09-29-2012 at 06:24 AM.
09-29-2012, 06:23 AM #5
Glad I could help you find your answer Learn something new everyday