User Tag List

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    spore
    Posts
    14
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Double Hit not a 'FAULT"anymore??

    I had a game with some friends last night. During one of the dbles games, one of my opponents strike a hit which was clearly a double hit. I told them it was a fault as the shuttle had clearly hit the racket twice before onto our court. but one of the guy claimed double hit is no longer a "fault" under the current rules. WTF?!!!!! i asked.

    So is it true? can someone pl enlighten me. tks

  2. #2
    Regular Member Ch1k0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    1,028
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    These are the only rules I can find that may explain it. All under chapter 13 in regards to Faults. I quote these directly from here http://www.bwfbadminton.org/file_dow...d=364295&tid=1 and they were last approved at the BWF May 2012 AGM and June 1 2012 Council Meeting

    13.3.7 is caught and held on the racket and then slung during the execution of a stroke;

    13.3.8 is hit twice in succession by the same player. However, a shuttle hitting the head and the stringed area of the racket in one stroke shall not be a 'fault';

    13.3.9 is hit by a player and the player's partner successively; or

    13.3.10 touches a player's racket and does not travel towards the opponents' court;

    But if you're saying he clearly hit the shuttle with two separate strokes then that guy is definitely giving you crap seeing as he thinks he knows the rules =/

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    spore
    Posts
    14
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Tks Ch1k0!!
    I think tat guy is correct!!
    What had happened was exactly as mentioned in 13.3.8. the shuttle hit the head and the stringed area of the racket in one stroke.... damn it! I was wrong!!

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,984
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It is a good rule change because many a disagreement arose from people's different perceptions of a double hit. But the 'carry' or 'sling' is still a fault -- a few folks think that rule was eliminated too. (I actually had to convince an opponent that my sling was indeed a fault and thus his point)
    Last edited by Fidget; 09-29-2012 at 07:24 AM.

  5. #5
    Regular Member Ch1k0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    1,028
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Glad I could help you find your answer Learn something new everyday

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •