User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    HK
    Posts
    4,214
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default What if you touch the shuttle before it rests completely

    let's say the shuttle clearly landed out. But before it completely rests on the ground, you touched the shuttle. is it a fault?

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,093
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    why would it be?

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    @Home
    Posts
    58
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    No as soon as the shuttle tuches the floor the rally is over and the shuttle is no longer in play.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    HK
    Posts
    4,214
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    ok, thanks. that's what i thought.

    it's just that i rarely see players do that, ie, touching the shuttle before it completely rested. i thought there might be a rule against it.

  5. #5
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    36,130
    Mentioned
    55 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    then it begs the question...

    what if the shuttle hits the floor and the racket at the same time.

    say, someone was diving for the shuttle, managed to touch it right at the exact moment when it touches the floor outside the boundary line?

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,093
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kwun View Post
    then it begs the question...

    what if the shuttle hits the floor and the racket at the same time.

    say, someone was diving for the shuttle, managed to touch it right at the exact moment when it touches the floor outside the boundary line?
    your partner shouts 'idiot'

  7. #7
    Regular Member Mark A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    St Helens, UK
    Posts
    4,567
    Mentioned
    24 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by amleto View Post
    your partner shouts 'idiot'
    I shout something alright, but it's not "idiot".

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    NorCal, United States
    Posts
    929
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pcll99 View Post
    let's say the shuttle clearly landed out. But before it completely rests on the ground, you touched the shuttle. is it a fault?
    Like mentioned, the play is already considered "dead" or the shuttle is considered "no longer in play". Just think about the shuttle travelling towards the net situation where it's clear it's not going over, and the player hits the net.

    And as for Kwun's question, I would say it's a fault. Cause it still touches your racket even though it were to land out.

  9. #9
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    10,122
    Mentioned
    136 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CantSmashThis View Post
    Like mentioned, the play is already considered "dead" or the shuttle is considered "no longer in play". Just think about the shuttle travelling towards the net situation where it's clear it's not going over, and the player hits the net.

    And as for Kwun's question, I would say it's a fault. Cause it still touches your racket even though it were to land out.
    Wait a minute... in that situation, isn't it a fault if the player hits the net before the bird lands on the ground?

    So according to law 15.1 I can do anything to the net when the bird hits the net and doesn't go over the net and hasn't touched the ground yet? Hmmm... something to try on my regular group the next time we play...
    Last edited by visor; 10-24-2012 at 01:44 AM.

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    NorCal, United States
    Posts
    929
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by visor View Post
    Wait a minute... in that situation, isn't it a fault if the player hits the net before the bird lands on the ground?
    Sorry I wrote that quickly and messed up. If it travels towards the net and hits the net but is going down (clearly not going over) then you are free to touch the net. The fault already occurred, so anything after is pretty irrelevant.

    But if the shuttle doesn't hit the net, even though it's still in the air and clearly not going to cross over, you cannot touch the net in that case until the shuttle hits the ground.


    Sorry for the confusion there.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •