User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    73
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question Badminton posts ricochet

    So I had an argument with one of my club-mates a few weeks ago...he said that if the shuttle hits the post and ricochets off and falls in (considering the shuttle hits the post over the net height), it would be considered as in play. Is this correct?

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    UK lor
    Posts
    63
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    no if it touches the poll or any other exterior objects it is a fault

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    647
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If the shuttle touches anything but the racket it is considered a fault.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    @Home
    Posts
    58
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    @victorgabriel1:
    Not quite right the posts are considered a part of the net, so as long as the shuttle passes over the net the shuttle is considered in play. Ie. it is not a fault.
    It actually doesn't matter which part of the post it hits, as long as it passes over the net afterwards.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    UK lor
    Posts
    63
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    sorry if i confused anyone i reread the laws and seems i imagined that rule, kryssler got it right

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    73
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    WELL...thats wicked

    Thanks all for your answers !

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    NorCal, United States
    Posts
    937
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    What krysser said is correct. The post is considered to be part of the net, and as long as the shuttle crosses over the net, even if it hits the post, shall be considered in play...With I believe one exception (which I'm not sure about, us umpires like to come up with all the unlikely possibilities)

    which is, if the post is higher than 5' 1" (in some gyms that do not have official posts) and it hits off the top inner part of the post and bounces in. If that were to happen, it would be up to the referee if one is present.


    I think I made this more confusing for you all haha.

  8. #8
    Regular Member gundamzaku's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Santa Clara County, California, USA
    Posts
    2,514
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CantSmashThis View Post
    What krysser said is correct. The post is considered to be part of the net, and as long as the shuttle crosses over the net, even if it hits the post, shall be considered in play...With I believe one exception (which I'm not sure about, us umpires like to come up with all the unlikely possibilities)

    which is, if the post is higher than 5' 1" (in some gyms that do not have official posts) and it hits off the top inner part of the post and bounces in. If that were to happen, it would be up to the referee if one is present.


    I think I made this more confusing for you all haha.
    never knew that, tho it never happened to me yet, but it's good that we know for future reference!!!

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •