How to beat a badminton player with amazing footwork?

Discussion in 'General Forum' started by MrBobby33, Oct 28, 2012.

1. MrBobby33

MrBobby33 Regular Member

He drops a lot. I am good, was the best at my club till he turned up. I have been playing for maybe 6-7 yrs. He drops most of the time from the back(barely clears) and has an annoyingly decent backhand. whatever i do..... he's there because of his footwork, so its hard to break him down or beat him. Suggestions pls... i hate losing and not knowing what to work on

2. Fidget

Fidget Regular Member

If he always drops and never clears from the back, then you've already defined one habit that you can use to your advantage. Anything predictable in your opponent is good for you, no?

With an opponent with good footwork and "decent" with all shots, it is possible that you might have to be more patient in the rallies than you are used to being (given that you were the top dog in your club).

So work the rallies a little more. Don't be surprised if he gets what others didn't. Just keep moving him about; keep the pressure on without prematurely going for winning (low-margin) shots; but when the situation presents, jump on it.

Perhaps the best part of the new guy coming is that your game will improve as well. An opponent like this will focus you on further improving your own footwork, stamina, patience and consistency. Good Luck! :)

3. twobeer

twobeer Regular Member

computer
    improve your explosivness and netplay. if he drops alot the best response is to launch exploisve and take the shuttle higher and closer to the net to gain an advantage. a tight quick block or diagonal block on the drop is always a goood response.. if the drop is slow ad predictable you may even be able to launch and kil it immideately.

4. fauci

fauci Regular Member

Improve your own footwork:)

5. amleto

amleto Regular Member