User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Role / power of Tournament director

    May I inquire , What is the role of a tournament director? If the tournament director sees a fault which the umpire did not see, does she have to power to over rule the call? Call the attention of the umpire?
    During a high school girls double championship team A was serving to team B, score 20 / 19 . ( match point )Team A shot a strong lift causing the ball to go out of bounds or outside but before the shuttle hits the ground the coach of team B caught the ball. The umpire did not notice this so the shot was called an out. The tournament director on the other hand saw what the coach did and told the coach not to catch or touch the ball while still in the air. Team B eventually won the game.
    Was there any badminton rules broken? In the spirit of sportsmanship and fairness what should have been done by the tournament director. Is the tournament director also the chief umpire? Thank you very much.

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    NorCal, United States
    Posts
    927
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The "chief" umpire would be the tournament referee. They are the ones who's call is absolutely final. In this case, if I were a referee, I would not have overturned the umpire's call. How far out was the shuttle going to be? Far enough that team B would not have attempted a return? Anyways, the referee would then have a talk with the coach if it seems like he/she has interfered with play.

    The fact that the umpire did not notice it is why it cannot be overturned. The referee is only allowed to overturn a ruling if it was a ruling based on question of law, not on fact (what the umpire DID or DID NOT see). So if there was a referee and team A were to complain, if the umpire claims he did not see it, then there is nothing the referee can do.

  3. #3
    Regular Member AlanY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    England
    Posts
    4,564
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    just imagine if it was LYB who caught that birdie of the last point of the 2012 London Olympic Men's singles final!

    if the coach caught it before it landed, he/she also gave a signal to the player not to return, isn't it? and that is definitely against the rules.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    NorCal, United States
    Posts
    927
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AlanY View Post
    just imagine if it was LYB who caught that birdie of the last point of the 2012 London Olympic Men's singles final!

    if the coach caught it before it landed, he/she also gave a signal to the player not to return, isn't it? and that is definitely against the rules.
    Luckily, in international tournaments, coaches are seated quite a ways away from the back line. The shuttle shouldn't be traveling that far unless there was a strong wind of some sort. I wonder in the situation of the above, how far is the coach seated from that back line. Did he like reach far out to catch it? If he didn't move from his seat and it landed near him and he caught it, it should be fine.

    13. FAULTS
    It shall be a ‘fault’:
    13.3 if in play, the shuttle:
    13.3.6 touches any other object or person outside the court;

  5. #5
    Regular Member AlanY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    England
    Posts
    4,564
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CantSmashThis View Post
    Luckily, in international tournaments, coaches are seated quite a ways away from the back line. The shuttle shouldn't be traveling that far unless there was a strong wind of some sort. I wonder in the situation of the above, how far is the coach seated from that back line. Did he like reach far out to catch it? If he didn't move from his seat and it landed near him and he caught it, it should be fine.

    13. FAULTS
    It shall be a ‘fault’:
    13.3 if in play, the shuttle:
    13.3.6 touches any other object or person outside the court;
    that's interesting.
    what if it was so far out, say the umpire's chair high up, is that still a fault.

    or the umpire has the discretion whether to apply the rule by the letters?

  6. #6
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    36,064
    Mentioned
    55 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AlanY View Post
    that's interesting.
    what if it was so far out, say the umpire's chair high up, is that still a fault.

    or the umpire has the discretion whether to apply the rule by the letters?
    it's certainly be a fault/out if the shuttle hits the umpire chair. the side who last hit the shuttle will lose a point.

    in the original scenario though, I wonder if these rules could've applied:

    14 LETS
    14.1 ‘Let’ shall be called by the umpire, or by a player (if there is no umpire), to halt play.
    14.2It shall be a ‘let”, if:
    14.2.5 in the opinion of the umpire, play is disrupted or a player of the opposing side is distracted by
    a coach;
    14.2.7 any unforeseen or accidental situation has occurred.

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thank you very much.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •