User Tag List

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 17 of 38
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Singapore, North
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Change hand when playing

    Hi all,

    May I know is there a rule say that the player he or she can't change the racket to the other hand when playing the game? And in single and double game, the player got 1 leg stand on outside the court and receive the shuttle is it a fault or out?

    Thx.

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    128
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Switching the racket to another hand shouldn't matter. As for stepping out of the court to hit it, that's definitely legal.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,855
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cillu View Post
    ,... As for stepping out of the court to hit it, that's definitely legal.
    If the OP means on receiving service then both feet need to be in the proper service area.
    9.1.2 the server and the receiver shall stand within diagonally opposite service courts without touching the boundary lines of these service courts;

    [BWF website]

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Singapore, North
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    thx for the reply, now i know this rule. i got a game on last monday and one of the player he sometime will step out of the court when receiving the shuttle from the back court on receiving service and mid of the game. But he told me was not fault.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Smashikon, Driveland
    Posts
    593
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    you have to stand inside the lines when in a "ready position" to receive the serve.

    if the opponent then does a flick serve (for example) you may of course run backwards, jump and step everywhere you like!! or do a step forward when receiving the short service is of course allowed.
    (though, it's unlikely you have to leave the court, but that's another story...)

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    aberdeen
    Posts
    601
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wakin75x View Post
    thx for the reply, now i know this rule. i got a game on last monday and one of the player he sometime will step out of the court when receiving the shuttle from the back court on receiving service and mid of the game. But he told me was not fault.
    please clarify the timing. he was out bound before or after the shuttle in motion.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Singapore, North
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    before he hit the shuttle his leg already out bound.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    aberdeen
    Posts
    601
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wakin75x View Post
    before he hit the shuttle his leg already out bound.
    you don't understand the question. was he in bound or out bound while waiting for the serve.

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Smashikon, Driveland
    Posts
    593
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    to make a long story short:

    as soon as you hit the shuttle while serving, he may run outside the court, jump, hit the shuttle whereever he likes, even do some deceptive backflips...

    e.g.: if you serve way too long, say 3m behind the court, he may still hit the shuttle 3m behind the backline and the game will continue. this is NOT a fault!

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Singapore, North
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by latecomer View Post
    you don't understand the question. was he in bound or out bound while waiting for the serve.
    He's in bound while waiting for the serve.

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Singapore, North
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by |_Footwork_| View Post
    to make a long story short:

    as soon as you hit the shuttle while serving, he may run outside the court, jump, hit the shuttle whereever he likes, even do some deceptive backflips...

    e.g.: if you serve way too long, say 3m behind the court, he may still hit the shuttle 3m behind the backline and the game will continue. this is NOT a fault!
    Got it. thx fyi. that means my friend got no fault at all.

  12. #12
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    9,136
    Mentioned
    95 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    as fidget quotes the bwf rules, you can only stand within the line boundaries when preparing to serve or receive

    however, once the serve has started, then you can stand anywhere and do anything you want, including triple backflips and jumping jacks on the lines, outside the lines, ... as a matter of fact you can even run over to the other side of the court, as long as you don't impede his stroke and movement!

  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Singapore, North
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    still got a thing like to know. when playing net shot, is it a fault when the racket touching the net and our foot step over the centre line?

  14. #14
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    9,136
    Mentioned
    95 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    can't touch the net or tape... foot: ok if you're not impeding the opponent

  15. #15
    Regular Member craigandy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    1,718
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wakin75x View Post
    still got a thing like to know. when playing net shot, is it a fault when the racket touching the net and our foot step over the centre line?
    If the shuttle has hit the ground after playing the shot you may touch the net with your racket, or if you are receiving the shot and it hits your opponents side of the net and begins to fall to the floor you may also touch the net. Just to confuse you You are also allowed to cross the center line with any part of your body including your racket as long as it does not impede opponent.

  16. #16
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    NorCal, United States
    Posts
    858
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I'm not gonna go into the racket touching net thing. (You can search around my posts to the rules regarding that)

    As for going under the net with any part of your body or racket, the rules state that it is fine if it does not impede OR DISTRACT your opponent. And honestly, you can win a point easily from that. Once you see your opponent's foot pass under the net, you can go up to the umpire and complain it is a fault since it distracted you and so you failed to return the next shot.

  17. #17
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    405
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CantSmashThis View Post
    As for going under the net with any part of your body or racket, the rules state that it is fine if it does not impede OR DISTRACT your opponent. And honestly, you can win a point easily from that. Once you see your opponent's foot pass under the net, you can go up to the umpire and complain it is a fault since it distracted you and so you failed to return the next shot.
    If the opponent just played a net kill that you had no chance of returning, then a competent umpire won't take you seriously. It happens a lot in professional matches, especially men's singles, and I've never seen it called as a fault (as long as the player's body didn't actually touch any part of the net).

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •