User Tag List

Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Net question

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    North London
    Posts
    25
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Net question

    Two questions,

    We have a player who dives for the net quite often and both of these occasions have happened.

    1.
    If you take a shot from your opponent then a part of your body enter the oppositions side from underneath the net with out touching the net is this a fault.

    2.
    Also, if you do this and touch a part of the opponent body.

    Pretty sure the second is not allowed, not sure about the first.

    Mark

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    407
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Rule 13.4.3:
    13. FAULTS
    It shall be a ‘fault’:
    ...
    13.4 if, in play, a player:
    ...
    13.4.3 invades an opponent’s court under the net with racket or person such that an opponent is obstructed or distracted
    So in case 1, if there is no obstruction or distraction then it's not a fault. Case 2 is almost certainly distracting, therefore a fault.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    North London
    Posts
    25
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks for the reply Alex,

    So in a tournament its the umpires decision to uphold this.

    Who's decision is it if there is no umpire, your opponent?

    If you was playing someone who was a bit of a 'player's worth' a tip toe past the net could cost you a point?

    Mark

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,109
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    when it is just player v player, then all eyes are on the shuttle and they wont notice where your toes are!

    and oppo cant 'take' a point for something like that in reality - you have to agree to it, otherwise you argue + play let. Or wait for referee... and play let.
    Last edited by amleto; 11-20-2012 at 03:02 PM.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •