Results 1 to 4 of 4
Thread: Net question
11-19-2012, 02:40 PM #1
We have a player who dives for the net quite often and both of these occasions have happened.
If you take a shot from your opponent then a part of your body enter the oppositions side from underneath the net with out touching the net is this a fault.
Also, if you do this and touch a part of the opponent body.
Pretty sure the second is not allowed, not sure about the first.
11-19-2012, 04:47 PM #2
It shall be a ‘fault’:
13.4 if, in play, a player:
13.4.3 invades an opponent’s court under the net with racket or person such that an opponent is obstructed or distracted
11-20-2012, 11:54 AM #3
Thanks for the reply Alex,
So in a tournament its the umpires decision to uphold this.
Who's decision is it if there is no umpire, your opponent?
If you was playing someone who was a bit of a 'player's worth' a tip toe past the net could cost you a point?
11-20-2012, 01:59 PM #4
when it is just player v player, then all eyes are on the shuttle and they wont notice where your toes are!
and oppo cant 'take' a point for something like that in reality - you have to agree to it, otherwise you argue + play let. Or wait for referee... and play let.
Last edited by amleto; 11-20-2012 at 02:02 PM.