? Head Heavy Balance and Balance Point

Discussion in 'Badminton Rackets / Equipment' started by MarcRafles, Oct 9, 2003.

1. MarcRafles

MarcRafles Regular Member

IT
    Hi all,

I want to know how can we classify a racket into head heavy balance?

For example:
    a Yonex MP88 has length 675 mm and its balance point is 312 mm (measured from the end of grip).
    a Talbot Torro Isopower 2500 has length 663 mm and its balance point is 295 mm (measured from the end of grip).

Thanks in advance.

Regards,
    Marc

2. bigredlemon

bigredlemon Regular Member

balance from handle without string or overgrip

<280m headlight
    280 - 300 balanced
    >300 head heavy (some ppl use 290-295)

3. MarcRafles

MarcRafles Regular Member

IT
    Hi Bigredlemon,

Thank for your answer.
    Since I am a newbie in badminton, I bought my ready-to-use racket. So I can't weight before it is strung/overgripped.

So how can I classify my racket now?

Does the total length of racket (or other factor) play any role to classify head heavy or not?

Thank in advance to anybody who would answer my questions.

Marc

4. LazyBuddy

LazyBuddy Regular Member

Engineer
    The "head heaviness" is just a relative term. To different ppl, it might vary. Of course, the total length could be a factor, so as the weight of string, weight of extra grip, etc.

Many ppl have different feeling to a same racket, someone claims it's well balanced, some might think it slightly head heavy. As long as u feel comfortable with it, it's all good.

5. jayes

jayes Regular Member

Badminton specialty selling strings, grips, shuttl
    Marc,

Given the two racquets that you described, I would hazzard to guess that your Yonex MP88 is more head heavy than your Talbot Torro Isopower 2500. :)

Cheers.

6. Rohly

Rohly Regular Member

What are the benefits of a head heavy racquet?

7. jayes

jayes Regular Member

Badminton specialty selling strings, grips, shuttl