User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    kerala
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default shuttle through the net

    In service, if the shuttle touches the top of the net and landed on the right court does it is fault?

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Burnaby, BC, Canada
    Posts
    1,474
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If it's through the net...fix the hole in the net.

    IF you are talking about the shuttle hitting the tape and falling into the service area...it counts. If it doesn't...then it's a fault.

  3. #3
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    9,623
    Mentioned
    120 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yes...this is different from tennis where its a fault if it touches the net on serve.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    644
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by visor View Post
    Yes...this is different from tennis where its a fault if it touches the net on serve.
    As far as I know it's no fault, if the ball lands inside the servin zone after touching the net but the serve has to be replayed. If the ball lands outside after touching the net it is a fault.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Burnaby, BC, Canada
    Posts
    1,474
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by visor View Post
    Yes...this is different from tennis where its a fault if it touches the net on serve.
    Aw man...I am a noob .

    Fortunately, I never come across that situation before. Mainly cuz I can't get my serve that low to the tape.

  6. #6
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    9,623
    Mentioned
    120 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Crap...had a brain fart this morning. Both phili and CD are correct. In tennis its a re serve if it manages to land in. Whereas in badminton the rally continues if it manages to land in. Referring to serves touching the net that is.

  7. #7
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Outside the box
    Posts
    13,686
    Mentioned
    37 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by visor View Post
    Crap...had a brain fart this morning. Both phili and CD are correct. In tennis its a re serve if it manages to land in. Whereas in badminton the rally continues if it manages to land in. Referring to serves touching the net that is.
    i was under the impression in badminton, if it hits the net and lands in, it's a point to the server. Have the rules changed so that the rally can continue after the shuttle lands?
    Last edited by Cheung; 12-14-2012 at 06:41 PM.

  8. #8
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    9,623
    Mentioned
    120 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cheung View Post
    i was under the impression in badminton, if it hits the net and lands in, it's a point to the server. Have the rules changed so that the rally can continue after the shuttle lands?
    You know what...I should just not post when I'm having the flu and under the influence of flu meds. Of course the rally is over in badminton once the shuttle hits the ground.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •