User Tag List

Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Chinatown
    Posts
    21
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Blowing the shuttle during a rally

    So I watched the Copenhagen match between LD and PG, and I saw LD blowing the shuttle right in front of him when he predicted it was out. (and he made it pretty obvious through his body language... if his head was closer he would end up kissing the birdie) Not sure it'll affect the flight of the shuttle much but I wanna know if it's legal.

  2. #2
    Regular Member Cycril's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Somewhere in M'sia
    Posts
    368
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Boonbeng View Post
    So I watched the Copenhagen match between LD and PG, and I saw LD blowing the shuttle right in front of him when he predicted it was out. (and he made it pretty obvious through his body language... if his head was closer he would end up kissing the birdie) Not sure it'll affect the flight of the shuttle much but I wanna know if it's legal.
    maybe he is just exhaling

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Malacca, M'sia
    Posts
    3,050
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    he is just trying to entertain the crowd...its exhibition match...why so serious?

  4. #4
    Regular Member gundamzaku's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Santa Clara County, California, USA
    Posts
    2,480
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    i think the OP was just using this particular match as an example, but i wonder about that, i would think it's illegal, especially if it was a net shot and both players are actually really close at net and one just blows at the shuttle, i would think it's illegal, but then it would be hard to prove it???

  5. #5
    Regular Member gundamzaku's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Santa Clara County, California, USA
    Posts
    2,480
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    i think the OP was just using this particular match as an example, but i wonder about that, i would think it's illegal, especially if it was a net shot and both players are actually really close at net and one just blows at the shuttle, i would think it's illegal, but then it would be hard to prove it???

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Malacca, M'sia
    Posts
    3,050
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    not sure....would be hard to prove but i doubt in an important match players would have enough time to do such a thing

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    325
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by **KZ** View Post
    not sure....would be hard to prove but i doubt in an important match players would have enough time to do such a thing
    actually itd be easy to make short serves too short by blowing on them but then again, I'm sure there's a rule that prevents players from doing it

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    @Home
    Posts
    58
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Well there is no specific rule that prevent blowing on the shuttle, but a umpire could actually use rule 16.6.4 to prevent such things.

    Rule 16.6.4 : A player shall not be guilty of misconduct not otherwise covered by the Laws of Badminton.

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ipoh
    Posts
    1,161
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    LOL, if you want to blow your opponent's netting back to his court, so vice versa, you also would want to blow your own tight netting if you could foresee your netting falling short of the tape. In general, this practice is a waste of time, especially when you are already tired from all those long rallies, it's much better to save your oxygen tank than to waste it on huff and puff. Large effort, puny results. Not to mention it's illegal and really unprofessional.

  10. #10
    Regular Member ronaldindin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    pj
    Posts
    34
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Can blowing on the shuttle really change the direction? For me I'll take it as a way to entertain the crowd. No big deal about it

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    291
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by blableblibloblu View Post
    actually itd be easy to make short serves too short by blowing on them but then again, I'm sure there's a rule that prevents players from doing it
    Hahaha, you think it'd be easy? I'd like to see one returner have enough time to
    1: judge the incoming shuttle as close of being too short
    2: massive inhale
    3: adjust mouth position to be just in front of the shuttle
    4: massive blow while adapting mouth position to always be just in front of the shuttle

    Because surely your mouth would have to be just in front of the shuttle for the blow to actually have an effect. The shuttle is light but it's not like it's light as a feather. Sometimes though when the shuttle falls on the net and rests there for a second, one of my club mates blow on it for fun to make it go over. In this situation I actually think there could be a chance to effect the outcome. I doubt it's illegal though, I guess there is no rule.

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    NorCal, United States
    Posts
    861
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I tried blowing an ant off a table not too long ago. It didn't even budge. I don't think blowing a shuttle will really have an effect. You are free to waste your energy and breath trying to blow it and tell me the results.

  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    325
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    huh a friend and I tried it a few months ago and he was able to make it fall short

  14. #14
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    KL, Malaysia
    Posts
    583
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CantSmashThis View Post
    I tried blowing an ant off a table not too long ago. It didn't even budge. I don't think blowing a shuttle will really have an effect. You are free to waste your energy and breath trying to blow it and tell me the results.
    Shuttles have larger surface area than ants. We all know about the breeze effecting shuttle flight. So this is entirely plausible. My friend did it once when the shuttle landed on top of the tape and made it fall over my side. I was pissed since it was not a very sporting thing to do irrespective of whether it caused the shuttle to fall over or not.

  15. #15
    Regular Member gundamzaku's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Santa Clara County, California, USA
    Posts
    2,480
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rogerv2 View Post
    Shuttles have larger surface area than ants. We all know about the breeze effecting shuttle flight. So this is entirely plausible. My friend did it once when the shuttle landed on top of the tape and made it fall over my side. I was pissed since it was not a very sporting thing to do irrespective of whether it caused the shuttle to fall over or not.
    well you should have gone for the net kill and as a result hitting his face, then call fault on him for getting his face in the path of the swing of your racket....point to you, simple!

  16. #16
    Regular Member chris-ccc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    26,579
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Lightbulb Blowing the shuttlecock

    Quote Originally Posted by Boonbeng View Post
    So I watched the Copenhagen match between LD and PG, and I saw LD blowing the shuttle right in front of him when he predicted it was out. (and he made it pretty obvious through his body language... if his head was closer he would end up kissing the birdie) Not sure it'll affect the flight of the shuttle much but I wanna know if it's legal.
    .
    There is no mention (in the BWF Laws of Badminton) that we cannot blow the shuttlecock; therefore do it if you think you can get an advantage.
    .

  17. #17
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Slum
    Posts
    414
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Lin Dan did that last year in the German Open final against Simon Santoso. Lin Dan was leading by many points and he apparently did that to entertain the crowd, but the shuttle landed in and the umpire didn't call it a foul.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •