Results 1 to 7 of 7
01-31-2013, 04:05 AM #1
Role / power of Tournament director
May I inquire , What is the role of a tournament director? If the tournament director sees a fault which the umpire did not see, does she have to power to over rule the call? Call the attention of the umpire?
During a high school girls double championship team A was serving to team B, score 20 / 19 . ( match point )Team A shot a strong lift causing the ball to go out of bounds or outside but before the shuttle hits the ground the coach of team B caught the ball. The umpire did not notice this so the shot was called an out. The tournament director on the other hand saw what the coach did and told the coach not to catch or touch the ball while still in the air. Team B eventually won the game.
Was there any badminton rules broken? In the spirit of sportsmanship and fairness what should have been done by the tournament director. Is the tournament director also the chief umpire? Thank you very much.
01-31-2013, 02:31 PM #2
The "chief" umpire would be the tournament referee. They are the ones who's call is absolutely final. In this case, if I were a referee, I would not have overturned the umpire's call. How far out was the shuttle going to be? Far enough that team B would not have attempted a return? Anyways, the referee would then have a talk with the coach if it seems like he/she has interfered with play.
The fact that the umpire did not notice it is why it cannot be overturned. The referee is only allowed to overturn a ruling if it was a ruling based on question of law, not on fact (what the umpire DID or DID NOT see). So if there was a referee and team A were to complain, if the umpire claims he did not see it, then there is nothing the referee can do.
01-31-2013, 02:38 PM #3
just imagine if it was LYB who caught that birdie of the last point of the 2012 London Olympic Men's singles final!
if the coach caught it before it landed, he/she also gave a signal to the player not to return, isn't it? and that is definitely against the rules.
01-31-2013, 02:46 PM #4
It shall be a ‘fault’:
13.3 if in play, the shuttle:
13.3.6 touches any other object or person outside the court;
01-31-2013, 03:21 PM #5
01-31-2013, 03:30 PM #6
in the original scenario though, I wonder if these rules could've applied:
14.1 ‘Let’ shall be called by the umpire, or by a player (if there is no umpire), to halt play.
14.2It shall be a ‘let”, if:
14.2.5 in the opinion of the umpire, play is disrupted or a player of the opposing side is distracted by
14.2.7 any unforeseen or accidental situation has occurred.
01-31-2013, 03:55 PM #7
Thank you very much.