User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    403
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Shuttle hitting top of post, then drop into court... is this legal?

    During a doubles match today, my opponent attempted a net drop and the shuttle hit the top part of the net post. It then "rolled" on the net cord for a very brief moment and dropped straight down in my side of the court.We discussed amongst ourselves whether it was a legal shot and decided it was, even though we werent even sure about it. Can anyone confirm this?

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Citizen of the world
    Posts
    244
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    it is..lo as long as the shuttle drops on the ground

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    53
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It is illegal. Same thing happened to me within the last month and I checked the bwf handbook. There is a specific rule pertaining to this, can't remember exactly what's the rule number though.

  4. #4
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    8,580
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    84 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    SHUTTLE NOT IN PLAY
    A shuttle is not in play when:
    15.1 it strikes the net or post and starts to fall towards the surface of the court on the striker's side of the net;
    15.2 it hits the surface of the court; or 15.3 a "fault" or a "let" has occurred.

    Yes it's a point for your opponent.

  5. Likes amleto liked this post
  6. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    @Home
    Posts
    56
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The post is considered a part of the net, and as long as the shuttle passes over the net (post) it is a legal shot.

    /Krysser

  7. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    NorCal, United States
    Posts
    807
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Actually, it depends. It gets into a judgement sense of where on the post it hit.

    By regulation, the post is supposed to be 5' 1" where the net goes over the pole so that there is no room for it to really hit the side of the pole and go in.

    When the pole is higher than 5' 1" and it hits the top part, it is up to the referee's decision, but should be played as a fault.

  8. Likes visor liked this post
  9. #7
    Regular Member milton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    East Sussex
    Posts
    70
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by visor View Post
    SHUTTLE NOT IN PLAY
    A shuttle is not in play when:
    15.1 it strikes the net or post and starts to fall towards the surface of the court on the striker's side of the net;
    15.2 it hits the surface of the court; or 15.3 a "fault" or a "let" has occurred.

    Yes it's a point for your opponent.
    I dont think so as the shuttle is falling on the opponents side of the court not the strikers. This happened to me once in a match on a match point. I was being extra cautious so hit a smash although i think the shuttle was outside the court. It then hit the top of the post which changed the direction of the shuttle into an undefendable cross court netshot. Our opponents made us play a let but we still won anyway.

  10. Likes amleto liked this post
  11. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,630
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The shot is legal.

  12. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Brunei Darussalam
    Posts
    1,558
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It happen before and the shot is legal

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •