Results 1 to 9 of 9
02-02-2013, 01:41 PM #1
Shuttle hitting top of post, then drop into court... is this legal?
During a doubles match today, my opponent attempted a net drop and the shuttle hit the top part of the net post. It then "rolled" on the net cord for a very brief moment and dropped straight down in my side of the court.We discussed amongst ourselves whether it was a legal shot and decided it was, even though we werent even sure about it. Can anyone confirm this?
02-02-2013, 01:59 PM #2
it is..lo as long as the shuttle drops on the ground
02-26-2013, 12:26 AM #3
It is illegal. Same thing happened to me within the last month and I checked the bwf handbook. There is a specific rule pertaining to this, can't remember exactly what's the rule number though.
02-26-2013, 12:30 AM #4
SHUTTLE NOT IN PLAY
A shuttle is not in play when:
15.1 it strikes the net or post and starts to fall towards the surface of the court on the striker's side of the net;
15.2 it hits the surface of the court; or 15.3 a "fault" or a "let" has occurred.
Yes it's a point for your opponent.
02-26-2013, 03:27 AM #5
The post is considered a part of the net, and as long as the shuttle passes over the net (post) it is a legal shot.
03-18-2013, 08:22 PM #6
Actually, it depends. It gets into a judgement sense of where on the post it hit.
By regulation, the post is supposed to be 5' 1" where the net goes over the pole so that there is no room for it to really hit the side of the pole and go in.
When the pole is higher than 5' 1" and it hits the top part, it is up to the referee's decision, but should be played as a fault.
visor liked this post
03-19-2013, 04:53 AM #7
03-19-2013, 08:15 AM #8
The shot is legal.
03-19-2013, 08:35 AM #9
It happen before and the shot is legal